HELP ME! NEED ADVICE--NEW NARRATOR HERE

Hi! I am brand new to audiobook production, and it would have benefited me to take a course, but I auditioned, got an offer, and here I am struggling with a deadline looming. I also have little time since this is a side hustle, and I work long hours.

Anyway, I’m narrating a children’s novel, and I need to get it done. I started by overediting. Seriously, it took me hours to edit 20 minutes. So now I am just trying to read, read, read and get the recording done before the deadline.

My question is, I don’t have time to edit all the breaths and mouth clicks. I am editing as much as I can, but I just don’t have the time to be thorough. I’m wondering if because it is a children’s book with lots of enthusiam and expression that my mouth clicks and breaths are more forgivable. Also, have I ruined my chances of ever getting an offer again? Will ACX reject me for clicks and breaths?

I also noticed I made some minor mistakes in slightly changing the words from the text. Will I get rejected for that?

Any comments on any of this will be appreciated.

Will ACX reject me for clicks and breaths?

That’s what happened to me. They have a whole thing about drinking apple juice and doing breathing exercises so your reading comes out “clean” and you don’t have to spend forever editing out noises.

Koz

You may not get that far. There is a technical test you need to pass before anybody worries about lip smacks. The overall voice volume has to be just so, it has to not overload and the background noise when you stop speaking has to be a thousand times quieter than your voice. Home readers never make it past all that on their first book.

We publish a home test called ACX Check. It will read the three values of your presentation (Peak, RMS-loudness, and Noise) and tell you where you are.

https://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/Nyquist_Analyze_Plug-ins#ACX_Check