I pass the noise floor test until I start talking..

Hi there, I’m an audiobook newbie!

I went to make a demo in my home studio today, and I thought I’d check the noise floor first. I hit record without doing a take, just to let the microphone pick up the ambient sounds. I passed the ACX check noise floor test with flying colors.

I went to record a performance take, thinking that my settings were good, but when I plugged it into ACX check my RMS was too low but the noise floor was suddenly too high? I tried again and again with the same result.

My understanding is that noise floor refers to the background noise present in a take, and RMS refers to the db of the performance itself. If that’s the case, why would the performance take cause the noise floor to spike? I thought the values were unrelated?

I’m sure there’s a simple explanation, and I would definitely appreciate the help. Apologies if this question has already been answered before. I did some digging on the forum but couldn’t find anything.

Thanks a bunch in advance!

JD

RMS value is performance plus noise-floor.

Amplifying so the RMS is higher inevitably increases the noise-floor by the same amount.

An expander plug-in (like couture) can selectively squash down the noise-floor when you’re not speaking,
but IMO only about -6db reduction is possible before it sounds conspicuously processed.

As Trebor noted,

Another issue that newbies have (not you, of course) is that they think they are recording into their new expensive microphone, but later find out that they were recording into the computers built-in microphone instead. Do the scratch test. Do a Transport > Rescan and check your device selection bar:

Good Luck!

they think they are recording into their new expensive microphone, but later find out that they were recording into the computers built-in microphone instead.