Advice on how to produce clearest voice for audiobook

Narrating and Producing Audiobooks.
Forum rules
ImageIf you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like
Josue
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Advice on how to produce clearest voice for audiobook

Post by Josue » Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:45 am

Hi, I am relatively new to doing audiobooks and still can't get the quality of audio I seek.
The kind of audio I'm looking for is: clear and crisp, nothing of bass (it hurts my ears), nothing of echo too.
I have an Audio Technica AT-2020 and after doing recording (in my room, which is not treated) I notice it has some bass on it, after taking it out on EQ, normalise and denoise, it appears some echo on the voice, an echo that did not exist before.
I am ready to buy another microphone (no more than 200$us) if it helps to solve the issue.

Trebor
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: Advice on how to produce clearest voice for audiobook

Post by Trebor » Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:48 pm

Josue wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:45 am
... recording (in my room, which is not treated) ... it appears some echo on the voice ...
I am ready to buy another microphone (no more than 200$us) if it helps to solve the issue.
A new mic will not remove echo/reverb from the room.
An expander plugin can reduce the room-echo/reverb when you're not speaking.
Steve's dynamic mirror plugin can expand ...

kozikowski
Forum Staff
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Post by kozikowski » Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:29 pm

I wouldn't fall in love with fixing it in post production. ACX Audiobooks hates highly processed voices.

If you have a live room, you can add a mini-studio to help with acoustics and echoes. This is one from porta-booth.

https://voiceoveressentials.com/product ... gKMEfD_BwE