Noise Ceiling

Hello,

I’m new to the Audacity forum and am having problems with the noise ceiling. This recording was done at home. Please analyze it, and tell me what is needed. I also recorded another part of the novel in the studio of a musician, which I’ll post next. I just edited the audio for time, and nothing else.

Thanks.

Robert

Hello again,

I had to cut-off a second of this audio because it was to long to attach. This was recorded an a musicians studio with the noise floor well below -60. However parts of the “noise” are above -60 according to the ACX. Is it possible that the check is considering part of my voice as being noise? I am surprised at these standards because I am sure that the studios at the two radio stations I worked at in Nashville would need additional sound proofing in order to pass ACX standards. However, I’m willing to do what it takes to conform to the standards because it’s my novel I’m reading, and my publisher wants me to record an audio book.

Many thanks for the help.

Robert

Yes, ACX check is not particularly “smart”. It is merely reporting the quietest contiguous 1/2 second section of audio it can find in the recording. In this test I don’t think there is a gap of that sort, I can hear you breathing through out the quiet bits. Hold your breath for 2-3 seconds (and don’t move either) to get a good test.

There is a fair amount of sub-sonic noise, and I can hear a hum in the background that I’m guessing is a motor of some sort (HVAC unit, fridge, etc).

In any case I was able to get you clip to pass ACX test with the following steps:

Normalize to -3.1db peak
Apply the “LF Rolloff for speech” equalization curve.

I did it with AudioBook Mastering 4 and the addition of a pitch specific filter tuned to your motor hum.

https://forum.audacityteam.org/t/audiobook-mastering-version-4/45908/1

Plus Effect > Notch Filter: 120Hz Q3 > OK.

You’re close in the raw reading, so several different mastering processes should work.