Moving Static Clicks

Audacity Podcaster Forum.
Forum rules
ImageIf you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like
Post Reply
Achtung74
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 6:32 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Moving Static Clicks

Post by Achtung74 » Wed Jun 07, 2017 5:08 am

In a podcast segment I just recorded I notice a number of static-y clicks in my audio. However, when I go to replay the clicks pop up in different spots in the audio. This leads me to believe my playback settings may be amiss, but can't seem to isolate the problem. Any ideas? Thanks!

Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
Posts: 26087
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am
Operating System: Windows 10
Contact:

Re: Moving Static Clicks

Post by Gale Andrews » Wed Jun 07, 2017 11:56 am

Version of Audacity? What playback Device - make and model number and how does it connect to the computer?

If it's a USB device, Windows key, Power button, hold Shift on your computer keyboard then click Shut down. USB devices won't play and record for ever without a cold boot.

Whatever device you have, you could try increasing "Audio to buffer" in Audacity's Recording Preferences (it affects playback too).


Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual

kozikowski
Forum Staff
Posts: 40417
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Moving Static Clicks

Post by kozikowski » Wed Jun 07, 2017 3:14 pm

But, you're right. If the problem moves around, the show is probably OK.

If it's a laptop, disconnect everything and see if the built-in speakers work OK.

Koz

silkyjnr
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:33 am
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Moving Static Clicks

Post by silkyjnr » Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:41 am

I also experience this problem.

I find it comes in after a couple of minutes recording and it cant be tracked when recording. Can it be removed in the edit? Is there a effect that can help?

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 47250
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu
Contact:

Re: Moving Static Clicks

Post by steve » Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:02 am

silkyjnr wrote:I also experience this problem.

I find it comes in after a couple of minutes recording and it cant be tracked when recording. Can it be removed in the edit? Is there a effect that can help?
If the clicks are in different places each time you play the recording, then it's a playback problem,
If that's not the case, please start a new topic and include details of what you are trying to record, what equipment you are using, what operating system, and which version of Audacity.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Post Reply