New to podcasting - need a mixer?

I am new to podcasting and audio editing, and we have started a podcast recently. Up until this point we have recorded our audio all separately using our phones and lapel condensor 3.5mm microphones, but I am now looking to record all 4 straight into audacity. I think (but I am not certain) this is done with a bus mixer? I want to keep all 4 channels separate on audacity and be able to adjust to volumes coming through on the mixer (if necessary, the mics are very sensitive and we are very loud people). Has anyone got any advice?

In my opinion you’re going in the wrong direction. For every one or two people that have trouble with individual performer recording, there are massive forum pages of people having computer recording troubles.

What is the goal? It’s probably to produce a podcast quickly and easily with no extended editing job. If you produce the podcast in studio configuration, somebody will need to play recording engineer, live, in real time. It’s a skill-set.

Do you have a computer that makes no noise? I don’t mean minimal noise. I mean no noise. In studio configuration, the computer noise will be picked up by all the microphones assuming everybody is in the same room.

Koz

It’s too late, right? You already have the microphones picked out?

Again, in my opinion, you would be way better off putting first level soundproofing in so it doesn’t sound like you’re recording in a kitchen or bathroom (even if you are actually recording in a kitchen or bathroom).

And I don’t mean popping for expensive sound panels. I’m a big fan of furniture moving quilts.

This is my design for a simple, one-person “kitchen table studio.”

https://forum.audacityteam.org/t/too-compressed-rejection/52825/22

I know you’re multiple people, but that’s just the idea.

I’ve been known to create a much larger “studio” with multiple pads. This is a movie animation sound shoot.

Note there’s one on the floor.