How to undo echo after its been applied

Audacity Podcaster Forum.
Forum rules
ImageIf you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like
Post Reply
sunshinemisty
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:41 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

How to undo echo after its been applied

Post by sunshinemisty » Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:54 pm

I was editing my podcast. I applied the 'echo' feature because I was trying to take out the background noise. I did not save the original, but saved it and closed before listening to the whole thing. I already tried to compress it. So now I need to counteract the echo because it is no longer in my history. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Trebor
Posts: 4910
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: How to undo echo after its been applied

Post by Trebor » Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:40 am

sunshinemisty wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:54 pm
I need to counteract the echo because it is no longer in my history.
Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Echo & reverb , (be they real or artificial) are generally impossible to remove.
If the echos are quieter than the rest of the audio, can make them quieter still with an expander / gate ...

Image
viewtopic.php?p=335940#p335940

But that does not effect the echo/reverb which occurs during speech, just squelches the noise between words & phrases.

kozikowski
Forum Staff
Posts: 41543
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: How to undo echo after its been applied

Post by kozikowski » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:23 am

that does not effect the echo/reverb which occurs during speech
Those tools can give you echoy or vibrating words over a velvety quiet background.

It's safe to assume most of the Audacity effects and filters are one-way. If you haven't closed the project yet, you can Edit > UNDO. If you closed the project, it's the end of the world.

This is where it's important to export a copy of your performance as WAV (Microsoft) 16-bit before you do anything to it as a protection backup. New Users sometimes shoot a performance and then apply effects and corrections to that one single Project. If anything goes wrong, the show goes permanently into the dirt. You go all the way back to shoot it again.

Koz

sunshinemisty
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:41 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: How to undo echo after its been applied

Post by sunshinemisty » Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:13 pm

Thank you is there a service that will look at my recording and try to fix it? :D

kozikowski
Forum Staff
Posts: 41543
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: How to undo echo after its been applied

Post by kozikowski » Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:16 pm

I don't know of a service, but someone else may post.

Koz

Trebor
Posts: 4910
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: How to undo echo after its been applied

Post by Trebor » Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:08 pm

sunshinemisty wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:13 pm
Thank you is there a service that will look at my recording and try to fix it? :D
If someone claims to be able to remove echo/reverb for money,
insist on getting a sample of your processed audio before you part with cash.

If money is no object, this is the best de-reverb that can be achieved ...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iIKFRbNh_nI
and it's not a total cure.

Post Reply