Corypting rights

Hi everyone, pretty new to this forum here. I have been using Audacity for 4-5 years now, always for non-profit goals. This year will be propably my very first attempt to create something that I will earn some amount of cash from. My question is how is it doing with using audacity here? As I think it is free and open source program, but I’m not expert from law and really can’t find some simply argumentation? Can I just on example paste whole album in Audacity and sell it? With all effects that it includes? Maybe question sounds stupid to You, but I’m kind of careful person. Thanks for answers and cheers

There is no connection between Audacity and your music. An analogy would be writing a novel with Microsoft Word or Open Office. You automatically own the rights to your own creations!

But of course, if you record your version of someone else’s song that’s a different story but it’s not related to the “tools” you use.

As DVDdoug wrote, the “tools” you use do not influence the rights.

However you wrote:

Can I just on example paste whole album in Audacity and sell it? With all effects that it includes?

If it is your album and effects, or you have the full rights to them, then yes, use it, record it, sell it, give it away, …
On the other hand if they are not, using a free and open source program like Audacity, does not mean that
you can now use copyrighted material and sell it.

Again, as DVDdoug wrote, if you make a version (cover) of someone else’s song or audio works, then there are
licensing issues that need to be taken care of with the copyright holder.
This is irrespective as to whether the DAW/audio editor that you use is free and open source or not.

Hi Wojak. No one will ever find a simple explanation that is waterproof because the copyright laws were drafted by lawyers who make money sueing people. Legally.

That said, take a look at this page https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries’_copyright_lengths