compressing cymbols

For Musicians to Share Their Music, Tips, Tricks and Reviews.
Forum rules
ImageIf you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like
Post Reply
mixer_dan
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2021 2:54 am
Operating System: Windows 10

compressing cymbols

Post by mixer_dan » Sat Feb 27, 2021 3:00 am

hi... I know that adjustments to individual tracks in the mix depend in what your goal is, but could someone offer advice on compressing cymbols? I want the cymbols to sound consistent when using monitors as well as when listening on a phone speaker. I struggle with balancing cymbols more than anything

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81336
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: compressing cymbols

Post by steve » Sat Feb 27, 2021 10:39 am

What sort of "cymbols"?
Do you mean acoustic drum kit cymbals? If so, how have they been recorded? What is your mic set-up?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

mixer_dan
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2021 2:54 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: compressing cymbols

Post by mixer_dan » Sat Feb 27, 2021 2:58 pm

I'm using the drum program Hygrogen, so the samples are done by someone else, not sure who.. It is a ride cymbol

DVDdoug
Forum Crew
Posts: 9361
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:30 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: compressing cymbols

Post by DVDdoug » Sat Feb 27, 2021 3:17 pm

Compression is one of those things you just have to experiment with. You might try the limiter. Limiting is a kind of fast compression and there are fewer settings to mess-with and mess-up.

Maybe compression isn't the solution. Maybe EQ will help, or maybe reverb, or maybe it's just a bad sounding cymbal or a bad drummer. When you listen to a live band the cymbals are not compressed. ;) Usually nothing is compressed live except for overdriven guitar.

And, you may need to make a separate mix for the phone.

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81336
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: compressing cymbols

Post by steve » Sat Feb 27, 2021 3:44 pm

mixer_dan wrote:
Sat Feb 27, 2021 2:58 pm
I'm using the drum program Hygrogen, so the samples are done by someone else, not sure who.. It is a ride cymbol
Just adjust the level in Hydrogen so that it sounds well balanced with the drum sounds.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

mixer_dan
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2021 2:54 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: compressing cymbols

Post by mixer_dan » Sat Feb 27, 2021 10:56 pm

I've never really looked at any settings in Hydrogen except volume...i could get a closer look...thx

DVdoug...thx. why create separate mix for the phone? All the references I've heard sound great on both full range monitors and phones. If it's achievable I'd rather have one mix

Post Reply