Recording 78 rpm records

Hello, newbie here.
Please be gentle with me.
My partner and I are new to Audacity. We are working on a project to record a sequence of 78 rprm records played on wind up machines.
We are having a problem with the sound quality in soft passages and especially with vocals.
There is probably a technical term for the problem but I don’t know what it is, so the best way I can describe it is that the sound comes and goes. Flutters. Has holes in it. Visually, a sound that should be ________ records as _ _ _ _ _.
We have tried using effects such as amplify and limiter to even out the sound but we can’t get rid of this problem.
Could any kind soul explain what is causing the problem and what we could try?
Apologies if this is a very naive question.

Dynamic-range-compression will make quiet louder & loud quieter, but it can’t replace missing sounds.

Thanks will try that.

The puzzle is that no sound is missing when playing the record. What sounds like a simple sustained quiet note when listening to the record, plays back a mess.

Check that Windows Sound “Enhancements” are all disabled (see: Why do my recordings fade out or sound as if they were made in a tunnel?)

So how are you recording (given that you are playing them on wind-up gramophones) what is your recording chain?

Any particular reason why you are not using a modern turntable with a stylus suitable for shellac 78s mounted on the cartridge ?

WC

Thank you @Trebor, we had a play with that this morning, not sure it made a lot of difference but will try again adjusting the settings.

@Steve I think they are off.

@waxcylinder It is very basic, we are simply using a mike plugged into a laptop.