How do I make an 15 second interval CD?

I am a novice when it comes to this software program. We use it to make CDs to help teach children with special needs. My question is this, I am trying to make a CD which has a specific tone (I already have this tone saved) and then 15 seconds of silence before the tone rings again. This tone and silence combo should span the entire CD in a number of tracks. I seem to be having trouble when I try to enter ‘generate silence’. Either the silence is added at the beginning of the clip and the tone plays after or it starts playing only the silence and not the tone at the beginning of the clip. Please, if I could have detailed instructions as I am not tech savvy or lingo savvy with this software.

endlesspossabilities

Do you want to make the tone and silence part of each performance track, or make them individual tracks and duplicate them at the CD creating step? Audio CD Authoring software will allow you to make the time between tracks be zero. So whatever you do in Audacity is the way it’s going to be.

To build it into each cut, Import one performance and the tone on their own timelines one above the other. Select the tone (click just above MUTE) and COPY. Select the show (same way) END > PASTE. That puts the tone at the end. Select the new show > END > Generate > Silence > Enter. That’s the silence part. Select the new longer show > END > PASTE (puts the second tone on). Export that one completed show. Use WAV. Do Not export MP3.

You can also produce the Tone, Silence, Tone and Export it as it’s own “show.” Name it something clever like ToneSequence.

Use the above technique only this time when you paste, you’ll get all three “events.” Tone-Silence-Tone.

That’s without thinking about it too much. There may be ways to automate this as well.

Koz

When you have multiple things on several timelines, they will all try to play at once. To prevent that, press MUTE on the tracks you want to be silent.