HDMI output?

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on GNU/Linux.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on GNU/Linux.
Please state:
  • which version of Linux you are using,
  • the exact three-section version number of Audacity from Help menu > About Audacity,
  • whether you installed your distribution's release, PPA version, or compiled Audacity from source code.

Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade (see https://www.audacityteam.org/download/).
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
fretski
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:05 am
Operating System: GNU/Linux other

HDMI output?

Post by fretski » Sun Feb 18, 2018 3:33 pm

Audacity-2.2.1/SuseTumbleweed/Asus-g73 laptop

To get practical tone, I test my audio trax matrix using Audacity on my home stereo by connecting the laptop HDMI port to the AudioVideo receiver-amplifier. This way everything I do on the laptop is echoed to the strereo (and the TV). All I need to do is launch the pulseaudio Volume-Control and then all sound gets echoed also. I play an audio track in VLC and I hear it on my stereo, woofer and all. It's the typical Netflix setup.

But i cannot get Audacity output to follow this route. The pulse control shows "HDMI/DisplayPort 4 (plugged-in)" as the only available hdmi selection. I presume this means the (only) hdmi port on the laptop. Audacity on the other hand lists only HDMI ports 1,3 1,7 and 1,8 as options which do not do it, neither do the other customary iec958, spdif or default selections.

As it is I have to export the summed matrix to an audio file and play THAT in vlc, kindof a roundabout way that takes a lot of time.

What can I do?

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 49027
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: HDMI output?

Post by steve » Sun Feb 18, 2018 4:03 pm

If you set Audacity to use "default" (or "Pulse") as the output device, routing of the audio output will be controlled by PulseAudio.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

fretski
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:05 am
Operating System: GNU/Linux other

Re: HDMI output?

Post by fretski » Sun Feb 18, 2018 5:48 pm

I set it to default (there's no 'pulse' option). The pulse Volume-Control window shows only the built-in analog stereo outputting actively and i can hear that in the laptop speakers. The HDMI (4) monitor remains silent. However, as i try to adjust the volume i can hear the big stereo speakers pop, so pulse 'is' outputting something to them but it's not the Audacity output.

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 49027
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: HDMI output?

Post by steve » Sun Feb 18, 2018 6:38 pm

In the pulse Volume-Control window, what options are available in the "Output Devices" tab?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

fretski
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:05 am
Operating System: GNU/Linux other

Re: HDMI output?

Post by fretski » Sun Feb 18, 2018 6:57 pm

steve wrote:In the pulse Volume-Control window, what options are available in the "Output Devices" tab?


OUTPUT DEVICES

Built-in Audio Analog stereo
======================

Port: dropdown list gives 2 options
- speakers
- headset
Here is where the audio playing shows monitor feedback


GF106 Audio Controller
===================

Port: no dropdown, one option only
- HDMI/DisplayPort 4 (plugged-in)

the volume slider below this last one is what pops in
the main speakers when moved

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 49027
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: HDMI output?

Post by steve » Sun Feb 18, 2018 7:23 pm

  • Launch Audacity,
  • Set the "Output Device" to "Default" in the device toolbar
  • Import or generate some audio,
  • Press "Play" then "Pause"
  • Open PulseAudio Volume control
  • Open the "Playback" tab, and take a screenshot
Post the screenshot so I can see what you are seeing.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

fretski
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:05 am
Operating System: GNU/Linux other

Re: HDMI output?

Post by fretski » Sun Feb 18, 2018 9:31 pm

steve wrote:
  • Launch Audacity,
  • Set the "Output Device" to "Default" in the device toolbar
  • Import or generate some audio,
  • Press "Play" then "Pause"
  • Open PulseAudio Volume control
  • Open the "Playback" tab, and take a screenshot
Post the screenshot so I can see what you are seeing.
i added the Output Devices tab too, the fonts are a little small
in nonkde apps on this laptop :-(
aud-pulse-capture-01.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

fretski
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:05 am
Operating System: GNU/Linux other

Re: HDMI output?

Post by fretski » Sun Feb 18, 2018 9:36 pm

steve wrote:
  • Launch Audacity,
  • Set the "Output Device" to "Default" in the device toolbar
  • Import or generate some audio,
  • Press "Play" then "Pause"
  • Open PulseAudio Volume control
  • Open the "Playback" tab, and take a screenshot
Post the screenshot so I can see what you are seeing.


<face turns red>
I just found it, the playback tab has the HDMI-4 dropdown option, didn't notice it before
</face remains red for week>

sorry Steve, I know you don't need the likes of me!

waxcylinder
Forum Staff
Posts: 9681
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:03 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: HDMI output?

Post by waxcylinder » Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:56 am

fretski wrote:

<face turns red>
I just found it, the playback tab has the HDMI-4 dropdown option, didn't notice it before
</face remains red for week>

sorry Steve, I know you don't need the likes of me!
Yeah - but we do like folk who are brave enough to fess up 8-)

WC
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * FAQ * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Audacity Manual * * * * * Audacity Wiki * * * * *

fretski
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:05 am
Operating System: GNU/Linux other

Re: HDMI output?

Post by fretski » Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:55 pm

waxcylinder wrote:
fretski wrote:

<face turns red>
I just found it, the playback tab has the HDMI-4 dropdown option, didn't notice it before
</face remains red for week>

sorry Steve, I know you don't need the likes of me!
Yeah - but we do like folk who are brave enough to fess up 8-)

WC

With the guts, no problemo. But I just turned 74 yesterday and so the full complement of marbles is a different story. :lol:


[i do hate dropdown lists, would rather see full pages with radio buttons so you always see everything]