Problem with Software Playthrough and Pulse

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on GNU/Linux.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on GNU/Linux.
Please state:
  • which version of Linux you are using,
  • the exact three-section version number of Audacity from Help menu > About Audacity,
  • whether you installed your distribution's release, PPA version, or compiled Audacity from source code.

Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade (see https://www.audacityteam.org/download/).
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
steve
Site Admin
Posts: 47301
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu
Contact:

Re: Problem with Software Playthrough and Pulse

Post by steve » Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:57 pm

When you run other audio applications, do they show up in PulseAudio volume control, and is PulseAudio connecting them to your Xonar sound card?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

audiofile375
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:34 pm
Operating System: GNU/Linux other

Re: Problem with Software Playthrough and Pulse

Post by audiofile375 » Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:43 pm

Steve,
I think those references to "AV200" are your Asus Xonar not working, but other than that I don't know what they mean.
Yes, the AV200 is the sound chip used in the Xonar D2. These messages puzzled me too. They look like compiler errors, but it is in runtime, not compile time. It may be some sort of debug feature. These seem to be coming from the ALSA lib, but I do not know what they mean, other than it doesn't look right.
I can't see whether you are building with a local or system version of PortAudio, but for Audacity 2.2.0 it needs to be the local version.
It does look like the compile is with the local portaudio. Here is the end of the configure:

Code: Select all

Finished configure:
EXPAT: using SYSTEM libraries
FFMPEG: using SYSTEM libraries
LAME: using SYSTEM libraries
LIBFLAC: using SYSTEM libraries
LIBID3TAG: using SYSTEM libraries
LIBMAD: using SYSTEM libraries
LIBNYQUIST: using LOCAL libraries
LIBSBSMS: using LOCAL libraries
LIBSNDFILE: using SYSTEM libraries
LIBSOUNDTOUCH: using SYSTEM libraries
LIBSOXR: using LOCAL libraries
LIBTWOLAME: using SYSTEM libraries
LIBVAMP: using SYSTEM libraries
LIBVORBIS: using SYSTEM libraries
LV2: disabled
PORTAUDIO: using LOCAL libraries
PORTSMF: using LOCAL libraries
PORTMIDI: using LOCAL libraries
WIDGETEXTRA: using LOCAL libraries
ladspa plugin support: enabled
audiounit plugin support: disabled
VST plugin support: enabled
prefix=/usr

Run 'configure --help' for an explanation of these options,
otherwise run 'make' to build Audacity.
When you run other audio applications, do they show up in PulseAudio volume control, and is PulseAudio connecting them to your Xonar sound card?
Yes, they do. I use xine a lot and it connects fine. I have also seen some Firefox connections in Pulse, so it is using Pulse to play sound and I have heard it.
Thanks.
Girvin

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 47301
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu
Contact:

Re: Problem with Software Playthrough and Pulse

Post by steve » Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:29 pm

audiofile375 wrote:Yes, they do. I use xine a lot and it connects fine. I have also seen some Firefox connections in Pulse, so it is using Pulse to play sound and I have heard
In that case, it "should" be very straightforward; Just select "Pulse" for recording and playback devices, and let PulseAudio handle the Xonar.
You're going to tell me that doesn't work.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

audiofile375
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:34 pm
Operating System: GNU/Linux other

Re: Problem with Software Playthrough and Pulse

Post by audiofile375 » Mon Nov 27, 2017 11:13 pm

Steve,
In that case, it "should" be very straightforward; Just select "Pulse" for recording and playback devices, and let PulseAudio handle the Xonar.
You're going to tell me that doesn't work.
Yes, it sortof works. Here is the problem:
If I have "Software Passthrough" turned off, recording seems to be working fine, but I cannot hear what is being recorded (or monitored) and Pulse does not show any Audacity playback connection for the output channel (speakers).
If I turn "Software Passthrough" on, then I record and hear less than a second of sound and Audacity stops with the level meters stuck at the last sample. If I stop and restart the recording process, I get another fraction of a second of recording and it stops again. When it stops, I can see there is an Audacity connection made in Pulse, but it is not producing any sound. I do not know why Audacity is stopping. The only clue I have is those last 3 lines of the console output when I started the recording process and Audacity spit them out when it stopped. They reference "/src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c".

If Audacity was stable and recording with Software Passthrough turned on so I could hear what is being recorded, then I don't think I would have a problem with Audacity. I just want to hear what is being recorded, while it is being recorded or in the monitor mode ("Click to start Monitoring").
Girvin

audiofile375
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:34 pm
Operating System: GNU/Linux other

Re: Problem with Software Playthrough and Pulse

Post by audiofile375 » Mon Jan 01, 2018 8:54 pm

Greetings and Happy New Year!
Sorry I haven't posted on this thread for a while, but I have been working on seasonal task commitments and finally got time to work this problem again last week.

Well, I have had some success since my last posting, but the solution to my problem is not what I intended. I was hoping to get Audacity working with PulseAudio, but nothing I tried worked, so I decided to get rid of PulseAudio and installed xfce-mixer instead of the Pulse volume control/mixer app. Audacity is now working as well as it did under Slack 14.1.

When I decided to get rid of Pulse, I realized Pulse has the only volume control/mixer app on Slack 14.2, so I needed another mixer. Since Audacity last worked on Slack 14.1's xfce-mixer, I decided to pull the xfce-mixer source code off the Slack 14.1 disk and build it on Slack 14.2. That worked and the familiar mixer ran fine on the Slack 14.2 xfce. xfce-mixer has two controls that the Pulse mixer does not have - "Analog Input Monitor" and "Digital Input Monitor". I have not determined what the latter is used for, but the former, I use with Audacity in place of the Software Pass-Through function in order to listen to what I am recording. Testing it with Audacity worked fine.

So, in summary, I found that:
1. Audacity's Software Pass-Through function will not work with the PulseAudio mixer/volume control. It randomly stops playing and/or recording with Software Pass-Through turned on (enabled). Note that Software Pass-Through still has noise problems with the xfce-mixer, but it does not suddenly stop. So the problem is not all with Pulse. Audacity has some responsibility for it not working.
2. Audacity will work with xfce-mixer if the Software Pass-Through function is turned off (disabled) and the xfce-mixer Analog Input Monitor is used to listen to the recorded signal as it is being recorded. Note that if Software Pass-Through is turned on and the Analog Input Monitor control is muted, there is output, but there are periodic noise spikes on the signal, including what is being recorded. So Audacity's Software Pass-Through mode is still not acceptable. However, it does not suddenly stop when in this mode.

I thank all who responded to this thread.
Girvin Herr, OP

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 47301
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu
Contact:

Re: Problem with Software Playthrough and Pulse

Post by steve » Tue Jan 02, 2018 12:41 pm

audiofile375 wrote:xfce-mixer has two controls that the Pulse mixer does not have - "Analog Input Monitor"
Pavucontrol has that, but it is shown dynamically when there is an active recording stream to monitor (it appears as an option in the "Recording" tab).
audiofile375 wrote:and "Digital Input Monitor". I have not determined what the latter is used for
Possibly for monitoring S/PDIF input?
audiofile375 wrote:Audacity's Software Pass-Through function will not work with the PulseAudio mixer/volume control
Just to clarify for the benefit of other readers, this is to say that you have not been able to get Audacity's "Software Playthrough" to work satisfactorily on your computer. It works fine on all the computers that I have access to.

Thanks for the update, and I'm pleased to hear that you have a usable solution.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Post Reply