Audacity device toolbar is empty

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on GNU/Linux.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on GNU/Linux.
Please state:
  • which version of Linux you are using,
  • the exact three-section version number of Audacity from Help menu > About Audacity,
  • whether you installed your distribution's release, PPA version, or compiled Audacity from source code.

Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade (see https://www.audacityteam.org/download/).
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
Post Reply
asravan
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 4:33 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Audacity device toolbar is empty

Post by asravan » Sun Oct 15, 2017 4:40 am

I am using Audacity on Ubuntu 16.04 to record from an electric piano through an input jack. My laptop recognized the recording device and I can see input levels fluctuating when I play from my keyboard (although I can't hear anything). The device toolbar in audacity is empty. When I hit the record button it gives the following message:
"Error opening sound device. Try changing the audio host, recording device and the project sample rate"

I've already tried re-installing my sound drivers. Does anyone know what's going on?

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 47311
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu
Contact:

Re: Audacity device toolbar is empty

Post by steve » Sun Oct 15, 2017 9:07 am

asravan wrote:from an electric piano through an input jack.
What sort of electric piano, and what is the "input jack" that you refer to?
asravan wrote:My laptop recognized the recording device
How does your laptop show that?
What is the recording device?
asravan wrote:I can see input levels fluctuating when I play from my keyboard
Where do you see that?
asravan wrote:Try changing the audio host
What options do you have? In a default Ubuntu set-up there is only one option.
asravan wrote:I've already tried re-installing my sound drivers.
How did you do that?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

asravan
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 4:33 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Audacity device toolbar is empty

Post by asravan » Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:39 pm

steve wrote:
asravan wrote:from an electric piano through an input jack.
What sort of electric piano, and what is the "input jack" that you refer to?
Electric Piano: Yamaha P45. I'm using a 3.5 mm to 1/4 inch jack
asravan wrote:My laptop recognized the recording device
How does your laptop show that? (Fluctuating amplitudes of signal when I press keys on my keyboard)
What is the recording device? (The keyboard)
asravan wrote:I can see input levels fluctuating when I play from my keyboard
Where do you see that? (On the Input tab in the sound settings window - Ubuntu 16.04)
asravan wrote:Try changing the audio host
What options do you have? In a default Ubuntu set-up there is only one option.
Could you please elaborate? I don't quite understand what that means. Thanks.
asravan wrote:I've already tried re-installing my sound drivers.
How did you do that?
(Re-installed Alsa)

Francewhoa
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 2:03 am
Operating System: Linux Debian

Re: Audacity device toolbar is empty

Post by Francewhoa » Tue May 01, 2018 2:16 am

If Device Toolbar or Devices Preferences show no playback and/or recording devices, this means there are currently no audio devices available to, or recognized by Audacity. There are a few possible causes of this.

You don't have the correct permissions to access the sound device, perhaps because you need to add your user to the "audio" group.

If your system does not use PulseAudio or if you choose the (hw) device in Device Toolbar, another audio application, sound server or service is using the sound device. You will need to disable applications or services that are using the device before Audacity can access it, or share the device among applications using JACK.

If you choose the OSS host (where available) in Device Toolbar, you must check that /dev/dsp (the OSS device) is present.
Read more at http://wiki.audacityteam.org/index.php? ... _available

Post Reply