Freeze when hitting the play/ pause / stop button

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on GNU/Linux.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on GNU/Linux.
Please state:
  • which version of Linux you are using,
  • the exact three-section version number of Audacity from Help menu > About Audacity,
  • whether you installed your distribution's release, PPA version, or compiled Audacity from source code.

Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade (see https://www.audacityteam.org/download/).
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
Davlog
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2014 7:38 am
Operating System: Please select

Freeze when hitting the play/ pause / stop button

Post by Davlog » Sun Jul 20, 2014 7:47 am

I recorded some mp3 files with this audio recorder http://www.noobslab.com/2014/01/record- ... appli.html .
The recorder offers me just a few formats, I have chosen the .mp3 (cd quality, lossy 44khz) option. That's all I know about the recorded files.

So whenever I want to edit and export one of those files and I hit the play button, it will play but usually I will hear a crackle very fast.
The playback-rate is set to 1 so it will take 3 minutes to play a 3 minute track. But it took audacity about 10 seconds. Well, when I hit pause or stop after playing it will freeze and won't react untill I click the x button in the corner of the window to close the program.

However, when I select a part of that file and export it without listening to it first, it's fine. The output is great and there is no crackle.

I am using Linux Mint 17. Any ideas how to solve this problem?

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 47271
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu
Contact:

Re: Freeze when hitting the play/ pause / stop button

Post by steve » Sun Jul 20, 2014 8:04 am

Davlog wrote:I recorded some mp3 files with this audio recorder
Why not record in Audacity?
Davlog wrote:The recorder offers me just a few formats, I have chosen the .mp3 (cd quality, lossy 44khz) option.
As you are intending to edit the file in Audacity, it would be better to make the original recording in WAV format (44.1 kHz).
MP3 makes files smaller (compresses the files) by throwing away some of the data, which reduces the sound quality a little before you have started editing. Just as with photocopying, it is best to start with the best quality original that you can, so stay in "uncompressed" formats like WAV, then if you require MP3 format, convert to MP3 at the end of the process.
Davlog wrote:So whenever I want to edit and export one of those files and I hit the play button, it will play but usually I will hear a crackle very fast.
In what program are you pressing play?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Davlog
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2014 7:38 am
Operating System: Please select

Re: Freeze when hitting the play/ pause / stop button

Post by Davlog » Sun Jul 20, 2014 9:33 am

steve wrote:Why not record in Audacity?
I tried. I watched tutorials on youtube, read some guides but always when I try to record with audacity the volume is very low. I set the input volume bar to maximum but it is still very low.
steve wrote:As you are intending to edit the file in Audacity, it would be better to make the original recording in WAV format (44.1 kHz).
MP3 makes files smaller (compresses the files) by throwing away some of the data, which reduces the sound quality a little before you have started editing. Just as with photocopying, it is best to start with the best quality original that you can, so stay in "uncompressed" formats like WAV, then if you require MP3 format, convert to MP3 at the end of the process.
Last time I did that, I heard a lot of crackling. Not only the bug (if it is one) in audacity but also when I play the file with a normal audio player.
steve wrote:In what program are you pressing play?
In audacity. I import the file, edit it and of course I want to play the part I have selected. It'll play but it often just sounds terrible. And then when I hit the Pause or Stop button to stop the playback, it'll freeze.

Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
Posts: 26087
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am
Operating System: Windows 10
Contact:

Re: Freeze when hitting the play/ pause / stop button

Post by Gale Andrews » Sun Jul 20, 2014 10:12 am

Davlog wrote:I watched tutorials on youtube, read some guides but always when I try to record with audacity the volume is very low. I set the input volume bar to maximum but it is still very low.
Which input volume bar did you set to maximum? Assuming you are choosing pulse or default in Audacity's Device Toolbar the Audacity input slider should be greyed out on maximum (that is, it has no effect).

Pulse is often problematic although it makes it easier for multiple applications to use the sound card. If you want to use pulse I suggest you install Pulse Audio Volume Control then choose the input source and adjust the input level using that. Then to launch Audacity, open a terminal, type:

Code: Select all

env PULSE_LATENCY_MSEC=30 audacity
and hit ENTER on your keyboard. This should solve the crackling, fast playback and freezes.

Otherwise, choose the (hw) playback and recording devices in Device Toolbar. However because you are now trying to access the sound device directly through ALSA, if any other program is accessing the device then it will not be available for Audacity. Also this denies exclusive access of a device to PulseAudio, so other programs using PulseAudio will not be able to use that device.


Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual

Davlog
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2014 7:38 am
Operating System: Please select

Re: Freeze when hitting the play/ pause / stop button

Post by Davlog » Sun Jul 20, 2014 10:38 am

Gale Andrews wrote:Which input volume bar did you set to maximum? Assuming you are choosing pulse or default in Audacity's Device Toolbar the Audacity input slider should be greyed out on maximum (that is, it has no effect).
http://www.classroomcopilot.com/main/wp ... acity1.jpg The volume bar I mean is Mic Input Volume in this picture.
The slider is, however, not greyed out on maximum. When I click on it, a ToolTip pops up with the message "Input Volume: 1,0"
Gale Andrews wrote:Pulse is often problematic although it makes it easier for multiple devices to use the sound card. If you want to use pulse I suggest you install Pulse Audio Volume Control then choose the input source and adjust the input level using that. Then to launch Audacity, open a terminal, type:

Code: Select all

env PULSE_LATENCY_MSEC=30 audacity
and hit ENTER on your keyboard. This should solve the crackling, fast playback and freezes.
I installed pavucontrol (should be the volume control you mean) and now in the Input Devices-Tab I can change the Port. Is that what you mean? If yes, mine is set to Line In (unplugged).
Gale Andrews wrote:Otherwise, choose the (hw) playback and recording devices in Device Toolbar. However because you are now trying to access the sound device directly through ALSA, if any other program is accessing the device then it will not be available for Audacity. Also this denies exclusive access of a device to PulseAudio, so other programs using PulseAudio will not be able to use that device.
If I chose hw, audacity won't play the sound. Guess that's what you mean with "not be available for audacity".

Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
Posts: 26087
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am
Operating System: Windows 10
Contact:

Re: Freeze when hitting the play/ pause / stop button

Post by Gale Andrews » Sun Jul 20, 2014 11:00 am

Davlog wrote:The slider is, however, not greyed out on maximum. When I click on it, a ToolTip pops up with the message "Input Volume: 1,0"
Then it's not as intended by Audacity if you are selecting the pulse or default input in Device Toolbar. The tooltip should say "Unavailable, use system mixer".

Where did you get Audacity from and what version does it give at Help > About Audacity... ?
Davlog wrote:
Gale Andrews wrote:Otherwise, choose the (hw) playback and recording devices in Device Toolbar. However because you are now trying to access the sound device directly through ALSA, if any other program is accessing the device then it will not be available for Audacity. Also this denies exclusive access of a device to PulseAudio, so other programs using PulseAudio will not be able to use that device.
If I chose hw, audacity won't play the sound. Guess that's what you mean with "not be available for audacity".
If you are playing a song in another application (or perhaps if you even have another audio application open) then you won't be able to play audio in Audacity.

So if you want to use multiple audio applications at once, use pulse and launch Audacity with the command suggested.


Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual

Davlog
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2014 7:38 am
Operating System: Please select

Re: Freeze when hitting the play/ pause / stop button

Post by Davlog » Sun Jul 20, 2014 11:04 am

Audacity is Version 2.0.5 and I installed it from the repository (Linux Mint 17) with the command

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install audacity
.

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 47271
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu
Contact:

Re: Freeze when hitting the play/ pause / stop button

Post by steve » Sun Jul 20, 2014 11:48 am

Gale Andrews wrote:If you are playing a song in another application (or perhaps if you even have another audio application open) then you won't be able to play audio in Audacity.
Note that "another audio application" may include your web browser if a web page that includes audio has been opened. Flash animations do not always release the sound card after the page has been closed, so it may be necessary to close your web browser, ensuring that when you restart the web browser it does not open onto a page that has audio.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Mowhawk
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 12:13 am
Operating System: Please select

Re: Freeze when hitting the play/ pause / stop button

Post by Mowhawk » Sat Jul 26, 2014 12:31 am

I'm having the same problem. I'm also using Linux Mint 17. Another post (Audacity 2.0.5 and Linux Mint 17, I can't work) sounds like they are having a similar problem, and they are using Mint 17.

I wonder if this is related to Mint 17?

When I open files on this computer, they play back fast, with a lot of static sound. When I press stop, the computer freezes. It does it with both the standard 2.0.5 version, and the daily build.

I recorded something just now. Initialy after recording, it played back just fine. After I hit stop the first time, the problem started. Rebooting doesn't help. There's nothing else open except for this browser window open to this page. No other audio playing anywhere. If I export the audio to a file, and play back that file in a different audio player, its sounds great.

I've been succesfully using Audacity for a long time, so I know it's not me.

Anybody got any ideas?

Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
Posts: 26087
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am
Operating System: Windows 10
Contact:

Re: Freeze when hitting the play/ pause / stop button

Post by Gale Andrews » Sat Jul 26, 2014 10:07 am

Mowhawk wrote:I'm having the same problem.
It's a problem between pulseaudio and Audacity.

Please try the same solution which is already written in this topic. ;)

Exit Audacity, open a Terminal, type the following:

Code: Select all

env PULSE_LATENCY_MSEC=30 audacity
hit ENTER on your keyboard then Audacity will launch.

Alternatively, choose the (hw) playback device or dmix in Device Toolbar .


Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual

Post Reply