Starting Audacity stops other sound playing

Dear Community,

I am relatively new to Audacity on LinuxMint, used it on Windows. However, yesterday I was playing an mp3 through Celluloid when I opened Audacity. As soon as Audacity opened, the sound stopped playing. Neither would I get sound via headphones or the laptop speakers, no matter whether I clicked on play in Celluloid or in Audacity. Also after closing Audacity, I did not get any sound. Very softly I heard some noise and cracks over earphones while the volume was cranked up to 100 % in every mixer I could find on the system. Upon restart, I could get back my sound with alsamixer on the command line, bringing back the volume to 100 % but starting Audacity

I would be grateful if someone could point me towards a solution to this problem.

I am running LinuxMint Ulyana and the latest version of Audacity.

“Celluloid” seems to get very mixed reviews.
https://community.linuxmint.com/software/view/celluloid
https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=310718

Have you tried using VLC instead?

Hi Steve, thanks. VLC keeps playing when I open up Audacity. However, there is still no sound via headphones. Cranked it up in alsamixer and checked the system settings as far as I found them.

However, this also applies to VLC. So also VLC has no headphones sound. Bluetooth is switched off.

In VLC “Tools menu > Preferences > Audio tab > Output”
The default is “Automatic”.
Change that to “Pulse Audio output”.

Now start playing any audio or video file in VLC and open the system sound mixer (probably under a loudspeaker icon on a task bar, depending on which “Desktop manager” Mint is using).
You should see something like this, and the volume controlled by the “VLC media player” slider:

audio-mixer.png

Hi Steve, thanks for your reply. I checked the preferences and adjustments according to your screenshot and recommendations, to me it looks fine.