Compressor

I have been using older versions of Audacity for several years. I just do simple clean up on songs, to improve my collection, and prep songs for an CDs I might want to burn.

The last version of Audacity I had came with Linux Mint 17.3 Mate. The Version I have now is 2.1.2, with Linux Mint 18.3 Mate.

I have discovered a difference in the Dynamic Compression effect between the two that has me wondering what exactly is happening. In the older version, when I used Dynamic Compression, and exported the song, the song file decreased in size, as if compressed, from it’s imported version. That seemed logical to me. However, in the 2.1.2 version the songs are more than doubling in file size (original 2.3 mb, exported 6 mb). This has me confused, and wondering why it has changed so drastically from the earlier version. I thought I understood what compressing the file meant, but I may not understand what it does after all.

I realize that this is a newbie type problem, but can someone please explain what Dynamic Compression actually does, and why the two versions are some diverse?

I all other ways, 2.1.2 is far more stable than the version I ran on Mint 17.3.

what Dynamic Compression actually does,

The simple version is a program that affects quiet sections of the show different from loud ones.

That’s different from file size, however. Loudness doesn’t affect file size.

You can get that kind of file size difference if you edited a compressed, lesser-quality MP3 file but made a perfect quality WAV file when you were done. Two-to-one or three-to-one size differences are not unusual if you do that.

Dynamic compression is a college course. The original compressor (if that’s what you’re talking about) was restricted useful because it had a defined range. If your show was the wrong volume when you started, it was the wrong volume when you got done—and sometimes didn’t change at all. I had tools you had to run before you ever started to use Compressor.