how to correct level in a track

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of macOS you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Audacity menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
Post Reply
knockingsoul
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 1:28 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.10 Yosemite

how to correct level in a track

Post by knockingsoul » Mon Apr 23, 2018 3:01 pm

Hello,

I wanted to know if someone here knows how evenly level volume in a track.
My issue is that I had to audio inputs with different volumes switching every 60sec.
I am attaching an example.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1lf2dZ ... 84R8zpfHaa

Many thanks in advance.

Trebor
Posts: 4673
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: how to correct level in a track

Post by Trebor » Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:02 pm

knockingsoul wrote:I wanted to know if someone here knows how evenly level volume in a track.
Envelope Tool is one solution ...
envelope tool demo.gif
envelope tool demo.gif (280.92 KiB) Viewed 301 times
As the music is repetitive, you could use repair channel plugin to patch-in a section at the transitions, if you're having trouble hiding the join with envelope tool ...

knockingsoul
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 1:28 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.10 Yosemite

Re: how to correct level in a track

Post by knockingsoul » Mon Apr 23, 2018 8:07 pm

My problem is that this is a 4 hour recording with volume changing every 1 minute. :(

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 48305
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: how to correct level in a track

Post by steve » Mon Apr 23, 2018 8:54 pm

knockingsoul wrote:My problem is that this is a 4 hour recording with volume changing every 1 minute. :(
Why is that? What happened?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

knockingsoul
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 1:28 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.10 Yosemite

Re: how to correct level in a track

Post by knockingsoul » Mon Apr 23, 2018 10:04 pm

Its not a software issue, its the recording itself.
every 60sec the broadcasting software was switching between 2 video scenes with audio source that had different volumes in each scenes. :(

Trebor
Posts: 4673
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: how to correct level in a track

Post by Trebor » Mon Apr 23, 2018 10:29 pm

knockingsoul wrote:My problem is that this is a 4 hour recording with volume changing every 1 minute. :(
Robert J H wrote Nyquist code which chops alternately between channels.
Theoretically* that code could split the track into loud on one channel & quiet on the other.
Then raise the volume on quiet channel to match the loud one (+10dB)...
Robert JH chopper in action.gif
click on this animation to see it in its entirety
Robert JH chopper in action.gif (150.93 KiB) Viewed 284 times
[ * In practice it may not work if the timings are not exact ].

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 48305
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: how to correct level in a track

Post by steve » Mon Apr 23, 2018 10:41 pm

This may make the job a bit quicker, provided that the switching remains exactly every 60 seconds

1) "Regular interval labels" http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/regu ... abels.html
Create labels every 60 seconds

2) Time Shift tool to drag the track so that the changes in level coincide as closely as possible with the labels.

3) "Command + A" to select all, then "Edit > Labeled Audio > Split" (http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/edit ... html#split)

4) Double click on the first quiet section, and apply the "Amplify" effect, set to amplify by 10 dB.

5) Double click on the next quiet section and "Command + R" to repeat the Amplify effect.
Repeat steps 5 for each of the quiet sections.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 48305
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: how to correct level in a track

Post by steve » Mon Apr 23, 2018 10:45 pm

Like this:
tracks000.png
tracks000.png (22.51 KiB) Viewed 282 times
and this is the result:
volume_issue.ogg
(3.86 MiB) Downloaded 20 times
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Trebor
Posts: 4673
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: how to correct level in a track

Post by Trebor » Tue Apr 24, 2018 12:28 am

steve wrote:5) Double click on the next quiet section and "Command + R" to repeat the Amplify effect.
Repeat steps 5 for each of the quiet sections.
i.e. repeat step #5, (which involves 4 key/button presses), one-hundred-and-twenty times.

Post Reply