Importing Labels

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of macOS you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Audacity menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
Post Reply
sailingbikeruk
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 5:08 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Importing Labels

Post by sailingbikeruk » Fri Apr 20, 2018 8:05 am

I am very new to Audacity and am currently just "playing" with audio that I have around the house not particularly for any reason.

MACOS 10.13.4
Audacity 2.2.2

I have created a file using text wrangler (now BBedit) saving it as Windows CRLF UTF-8, the file tease the form:

Time in HH:MM:SS.xxx (tab) Time in HH:MM:SS.xxx (Tab) Label Title

Ive tried to import this originally with seventeen labels in that format each one on a new line, this failed so I tried it with just one... I get the same rather unhelpful error every time and I am hoping someone more experienced can provide some guidance...

The error I receive is simply this:-

"One or more save labels could not be read"

Any ideas?

Ian

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 48305
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Importing Labels

Post by steve » Fri Apr 20, 2018 8:13 am

Try saving the file as plain ASCII text with "LF" line endings.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

sailingbikeruk
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 5:08 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Importing Labels

Post by sailingbikeruk » Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:05 pm

steve wrote:Try saving the file as plain ASCII text with "LF" line endings.
Steve, I cant see an option in either BBedit or TextEdit that is "Plain ASCII" but I have opened and saved the file using MacVIM which should be plain text - I still get the same message.

Ian

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 48305
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Importing Labels

Post by steve » Fri Apr 20, 2018 2:59 pm

If you attach the text file to your reply, I'll take a look. (see here for how to attach files to forum posts: viewtopic.php?f=49&t=64936 )
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

sailingbikeruk
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 5:08 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Importing Labels

Post by sailingbikeruk » Sat Apr 21, 2018 8:53 am

This is the simplest version of the file with just one label.
Attachments
Label_Import_Test.txt
(38 Bytes) Downloaded 27 times

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 48305
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Importing Labels

Post by steve » Sun Apr 22, 2018 10:26 am

Times must be in seconds, relative to "0.0" on the Timeline).
If you want that label at "28 seconds", you should write it as

Code: Select all

28
or

Code: Select all

28.0
or

Code: Select all

28.000
1 min 35.6 seconds would be written as:

Code: Select all

95.6
or

Code: Select all

95.600000
(trailing zeros are unimportant).
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Post Reply