HELP!! Audacity won't save uploaded LP's and asks for libmp

Help me PLEASE!! I’m a studio singer in Nashville, TN I have an iMac 10.12.6 OS Sierra. I’ve just purchased a Crosley USB Portable Turntable and have uploaded the CD rom that came with it to use the program Audacity version 2.6. I’m about to throw this record player and cd rom across the room. I can get a song off of an LP to record on the Audacity program… but it will NOT save it, I’ve looked at all the youtube video’s of trying to save and convert to an MP3, so that I can add it to my iTunes library… but it’s not working. And it eventually disappears out of Audacity, which is really weird. After many clicks etc… up comes a box that says where is libmp3lame.dylib? and I have NO idea of what this is. I’m NOT technically savvy, and not an engineer in anyway… so please help me with simple terms and answers. I’d appreciate any hand-holding you can give to a novice. And would so appreciate any help. My email is xxxx@comcast.net, i’m also same person on FB at this link: https://www.facebook.com/xxx Thanks so much!!

I removed your personal information. We are a spam magnet and it’s not a good idea to post that stuff.
Koz

Having it vanish from Audacity is not normal.

Audacity will not create an MP3 by itself. You have to add the “Lame” special purpose software.

Audacity will not “save” a sound file. If you want a stand-alone sound file you should File > Export one.

And finally, Audacity 2.0.6 is super old. You should probably install Audacity 2.2.2 from here. You can get the Lame software from there, too.

https://www.audacityteam.org/download/mac/

Post if you get stuck.

Koz

You probably have Audacity 1.2.6 (not 2.6, which does not exist).
Start by downloading the latest Audacity here.
You do not necessarily need LAME (which allows Audacity to export to MP3 format). iTunes will do that for you.