Why no line-in or device option for input?

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of macOS you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Audacity menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Why no line-in or device option for input?

Permanent link to this post Posted by EricAloha » Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:37 am

I've got an old mini-cassette tape player connected to my Mac (OS 10.11.6) using a stereo mini to mini cable that I just bought, but I can't get Audacity to capture anything from the tape. In my Mac's audio settings, I have "line-in" selected for audio, but Audacity doesn't give me that option, only Soundflower (2ch) and Soundfllower (64ch). Could that be the problem? And if so, why don't I have the option to recognize the tape player instead of only having the option to select Soundflower?
EricAloha
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 2:13 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Why no line-in or device option for input?

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Wed Mar 14, 2018 4:46 am

Macs don't have stereo connections any more unless you have an older MBP, or a Mini.

viewtopic.php?f=47&t=99246

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 40214
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: Why no line-in or device option for input?

Permanent link to this post Posted by billw58 » Wed Mar 14, 2018 3:58 pm

Where do you have "line in" selected for audio?
-- Bill
billw58
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 3785
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 am
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Why no line-in or device option for input?

Permanent link to this post Posted by EricAloha » Thu Mar 15, 2018 1:24 am

kozikowski wrote:Macs don't have stereo connections any more unless you have an older MBP, or a Mini.

viewtopic.php?f=47&t=99246

Koz


I have a mac mini, and it does have a stereo input. It has an output for headphones/speakers and an input for microphone or other device. I have the cable plugged in to that input.
EricAloha
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 2:13 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Why no line-in or device option for input?

Permanent link to this post Posted by EricAloha » Thu Mar 15, 2018 1:25 am

billw58 wrote:Where do you have "line in" selected for audio?
-- Bill


I have "line in" selected for audio in my mac's system preferences for sound settings. The option to select that comes as a result of me connecting the tape player to my mac using the mini-to-mini cable.
EricAloha
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 2:13 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Why no line-in or device option for input?

Permanent link to this post Posted by billw58 » Thu Mar 15, 2018 3:00 am

Once you have "line in" selected in System Preferences, then you should be able to start Audacity and select "Line In" for the recording device in the Device Toolbar.

-- Bill
billw58
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 3785
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 am
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Why no line-in or device option for input?

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Thu Mar 15, 2018 5:37 am

But before you do that.

Apple (upper left) > System Preferences > Sound > Input. Do you see Built-In Line-In? Play a tape. Does the bouncing light sound meter bounce? Is the volume control slider all the way up?

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 40214
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: Why no line-in or device option for input?

Permanent link to this post Posted by EricAloha » Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:33 am

I figured out the problem! And this is something for people to know about. Audacity will not recognize a device unless you plug it in before opening the application. I remembered that this had happened in the past with a Yeti microphone. The Yeti wouldn't come up in the list of input options in Audacity unless I quit Audacity first and then plugged in the Yeti before reopening Audacity.
EricAloha
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 2:13 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Why no line-in or device option for input?

Permanent link to this post Posted by billw58 » Fri Mar 16, 2018 1:07 am

EricAloha wrote:I figured out the problem! And this is something for people to know about. Audacity will not recognize a device unless you plug it in before opening the application. I remembered that this had happened in the past with a Yeti microphone. The Yeti wouldn't come up in the list of input options in Audacity unless I quit Audacity first and then plugged in the Yeti before reopening Audacity.

That's why I said you should plug in the device, verify the Mac sees it, then start Audacity.
Or you could do Transport > Rescan Audio Devices.
-- Bill
billw58
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 3785
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 am
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)


Return to Mac OS X



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rovf and 6 guests