Dumbest question ever - only one track showing

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of macOS you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Audacity menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Dumbest question ever - only one track showing

Permanent link to this post Posted by bfloxword » Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:47 pm

new user, luddite. I'm hooked up from my tape deck, that shows 2 tracks playing, equal on each track....2XRCA by 3.5mm pin connector to my old Mac running 10.6.8. I've figured out how to record, save, listen as I record, etc., but I'm only getting one track on the display of two tracks. Is my problem settings of some sort, or do I have a defective connector (RCA x pin) ? Or, maybe, I'm only supposed to have one track? I can't find anything in the documentation that says "you will now see two tracks being recorded",

Any help?
bfloxword
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:40 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard or earlier

Re: Dumbest question ever - only one track showing

Permanent link to this post Posted by bfloxword » Tue Feb 20, 2018 1:44 am

Audacity 2.2.1, by the way
bfloxword
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:40 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard or earlier

Re: Dumbest question ever - only one track showing

Permanent link to this post Posted by cyrano » Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:37 am

Which Mac is that, exactly?

If it's a Macbook Pro, chances are it's too new.

I don't know exactly when, but Apple changed the old and trusted 3,5 mm stereo line input jack to a newer kind that supports mic input and stereo headphone output on the one plug. It's called a TRRS connector. Lots of Windows PC's seem to have these too, these days.
cyrano
 
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 11:54 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: Dumbest question ever - only one track showing

Permanent link to this post Posted by bfloxword » Tue Feb 20, 2018 1:37 pm

No, my tower def has a 3.5 mm input. I think something is wrong with the output connectors of the tape deck —or the exact 3.5 cable...still I want to know if I should be seeing two frequency streams when I have the new recording set for stereo?
bfloxword
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:40 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard or earlier

Re: Dumbest question ever - only one track showing

Permanent link to this post Posted by billw58 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:13 pm

Just to make sure, you have Audacity set to record 2 channels, you see a stereo track recorded, but only channel of the stereo track has sound?

When recording, do both the left and right meters move, or just one of them?

Does your cable look like the one in the first picture on this page? Note the three connection points on the 3.5mm end: tip, ring and sleeve.

-- Bill
billw58
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 3783
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 am
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Dumbest question ever - only one track showing

Permanent link to this post Posted by bfloxword » Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:55 pm

yes, I believe I have the settings correct. You may have hit something on the pin end, though, because they one I found on my shelf has FOUR sections, not three. This can explain getting full sound when the pin on one of the RCA connectors is touched to the steel outside casing of the pin connector on the Tape Deck. I'll hope the new cable I ordered fixes this problem, allowing everyone else to learn from my error.
bfloxword
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:40 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard or earlier

Re: Dumbest question ever - only one track showing

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Wed Feb 21, 2018 1:50 am

This Mac connection...

Image

Works with one of these.

Image

This is me shooting a remote radio broadcast with it.

Image

Too may rings on the 1/8" plug can cause very serious problems. From the tip back, it's Left, Right, Shield. That got very complicated when people determined to smash all possible sound services into one socket.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 40148
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks


Return to Mac OS X



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests