Questions about slowing tempo

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of macOS you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Audacity menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
Post Reply
writerhoward
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 1:11 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Questions about slowing tempo

Post by writerhoward » Thu Nov 09, 2017 1:17 pm

I am using Audacity 2.1.3. I am listening to an audio and the speaker is speaking too fast. I know that I can use "Playback Speed" to slow his speech, but in addition to doing that, if I also set the percent change in Effect | Change Tempo to -12%, will that change still work if I had changed Playback Speed to 82%. Can they work together? I am trying to find the best way to slow the speaker's pace.

Howard

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 47297
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu
Contact:

Re: Questions about slowing tempo

Post by steve » Thu Nov 09, 2017 4:44 pm

Whichever way will work to a point, but too much and it will be difficult to understand. You'll just have to try it and see what works best for you.
There's no reason why can't use "Change Tempo" and "Playback Speed" together, but note that "Playback Speed" is only temporary, whereas "Change Tempo" is an effect that permanently changes the audio (though "Ctr + Z" will undo the last used effect).
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

writerhoward
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 1:11 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Questions about slowing tempo

Post by writerhoward » Thu Nov 09, 2017 5:22 pm

Thanks Steve.

I did not realize that when I exported my file to MP3 that only my "Change Tempo" change was part of the export.

Howard

Post Reply