Adjusting EQ on the timeline

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of macOS you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Audacity menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
Post Reply
antarapigeon
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:01 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Adjusting EQ on the timeline

Post by antarapigeon » Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:18 pm

Hi guys!

I have a rather simple need, and i've been looking my eyes out to find how to do it. In a piece of software that does way more advanced stuff, I cannot believe this is impossible.

I want to modify the amount of a frequency (just lo or mid or hi) gradually (like a fade, but just for a particular frequency).

What you do in other software (say, Ableton) - you switch on a control line on the waveform for, say, "low" - make your own points on it and drag them up or down to manually create a curve you need.

Similar how you would use envelope tool in Audacity to adjust your track volume.

I can imagine something like that can be achieved via Spectogram, but maan, that sounds way too complicated for such a simple task.

Hope someone can shed a light!

And happy crispy fall to you all :)

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 47311
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu
Contact:

Re: Adjusting EQ on the timeline

Post by steve » Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:44 pm

Probably the easiest way is:
1) Duplicate the track (command + D)
2) Apply EQ to the duplicate
3) Crossfade the two tracks (http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/cros ... racks.html)
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

antarapigeon
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:01 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Adjusting EQ on the timeline

Post by antarapigeon » Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:19 pm

So I cannot make a manual "zigzag" of the desired frequency if i want to? I thought it's something that many people would need? I guess not, then :D

kozikowski
Forum Staff
Posts: 40471
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Adjusting EQ on the timeline

Post by kozikowski » Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:39 pm

Audacity doesn't do much in real time. You can create the tracks as above and zig zag back and forth in post production with the Envelope Tool.

http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/envelope_tool.html

Koz

antarapigeon
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:01 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Adjusting EQ on the timeline

Post by antarapigeon » Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:44 pm

Thank you so much for such fast answers!
And thank you for the big work developing all this!

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 47311
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu
Contact:

Re: Adjusting EQ on the timeline

Post by steve » Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:44 pm

antarapigeon wrote:So I cannot make a manual "zigzag" of the desired frequency if i want to?
Yes you can, but that's not what you asked.
By "Zigzag" I presume that you mean something like this "High Pass Filter (LFO)" effect:
http://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/Nyqui ... _.28LFO.29
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

antarapigeon
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:01 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Adjusting EQ on the timeline

Post by antarapigeon » Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:57 pm

Well high pass filter will still apply itself to the selected part of the track in a constant level.

What I want to do is, for example, use zero % bass for the first 10 seconds of the track, then increase it from zero to 50% over the course of the next 5 seconds, then keep it at 50%, then reduce again, and so on. I don't need to listen real-time to what i'm doing, just be able to see the visual representation on the timeline somehow. But I understand, this is not a feature, no problems!

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 47311
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu
Contact:

Re: Adjusting EQ on the timeline

Post by steve » Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:16 pm

You could use the envelope tool *http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/envelope_tool.html) to control how much of each track:
tracks000.png
tracks000.png (35.8 KiB) Viewed 411 times
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

antarapigeon
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:01 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Adjusting EQ on the timeline

Post by antarapigeon » Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:56 pm

thanks for the hack! :)

Post Reply