Problems linking to a brand new iMac

After nearly nine years with an iMac stuck on Lion OSX 10.7.5 I have bought a new iMac on El Capitan OSX 10.11.3. With the older mac I could digitize LPs and cassettes using a line in socket on the back of the computer as it would not recognize Audacity with a USB cable. That worked well and I am still learning how to do it better and better. Problem now is the the modern iMac has no line in socket! What do I do? I have yet to discover the joys of Thunderbolt. Is there a way in though one of these? If so with an adaptor or some sort of interface? Or would the headphone socket do? I haven’t tried that because we are warned against that practice in the Help program.

This is the new Stereo Line-In… and Stereo Line-Out.

That’s a Behringer UCA-202. I have two. Also see: Behringer UCA-222 and UFO-202 which has a a built-in phono preamp for conventional analog turntables.

My so-new-it-squeeks Air still has a conventional USB connection. Actually two, in addition to the Thunberbolt I use with various adapters for wired network and backup hard drives.

There are certainly other ways to do this, but that’s been my hero device for a while now. Also see:

https://forum.audacityteam.org/t/sound-card-reviews/8375/1

Be careful not to fall for one of the ultra-cheap USB adapters such as the ICUSBAUDIO by Startech.

https://www.startech.com/Cards-Adapters/Sound/USB-Audio/USB-20-to-Audio-Adapter~ICUSBAUDIO

Turn a USB port into a Stereo Sound Card. Sounds terrific, doesn’t it? It doesn’t. It has a stereo headphone connection and a mono microphone connection. It’s not stereo Line-In. I use one of these for a microphone connection for minor recording jobs that don’t need a full studio.

The UCA202 is certified for overdubbing/sound-on-sound because of its built-in zero-latency monitoring. No I don’t recommend using earbuds for advanced musical production. Those were graphically convenient for the photo.