Unable to switch from built in mic to line input

Help for Audacity on macOS.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity on macOS 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of macOS you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Audacity menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
Post Reply
therealdjspecialk
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 10:39 pm
Operating System: Please select

Unable to switch from built in mic to line input

Post by therealdjspecialk » Mon Mar 17, 2014 10:43 pm

I have a mid 2010 Macbook pro i5. I am unable to switch the input in Audacity from built in mic to line input. I checked the line input in system preferences on my mac, but it doesen't affect the inability to switch the input in Audacity. :x

kozikowski
Posts: 71198
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Operating System: macOS 10.13 High Sierra

Re: Unable to switch from built in mic to line input

Post by kozikowski » Tue Mar 18, 2014 12:17 am

13"?

Do you have connections that look like this?

http://www.kozco.com/tech/audacity/pix/MacLineIn.jpg

If you have a 13", then you may have one connection that is expected to switch between Line-In and Headphone Out.

The switching is supposed to happen in Mac System Preferences, but I'm not sure what that connection looks like internally.

I would restart Audacity after you set Mac System Preferences. Audacity checks for new devices when it starts.

Koz

therealdjspecialk
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 10:39 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Unable to switch from built in mic to line input

Post by therealdjspecialk » Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:40 pm

Yes I do have those connections

Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
Posts: 41761
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am
Operating System: Windows 10 / 11

Re: Unable to switch from built in mic to line input

Post by Gale Andrews » Thu Mar 20, 2014 12:00 am

therealdjspecialk wrote:Yes I do have those connections
Which connections? The separate line-in and headphones out?

Are you sure you have the latest Audacity 2.0.5 from here: http://audacityteam.org/download/mac ? Check your version at Audacity > About Audacity.

In 2.0.5 you should be able to choose Line-in in Audacity's Device Toolbar even if the default input in System Preferences is set to another input.


Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual

kozikowski
Posts: 71198
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Operating System: macOS 10.13 High Sierra

Re: Unable to switch from built in mic to line input

Post by kozikowski » Thu Mar 20, 2014 1:49 am

Also make sure your Stereo/Mono is switched right.

You can get there from the Audacity Tool Bar, or you can go the long way:
Audacity > Preferences > Devices > Recording.

And just to cover it, the Stereo Line-In is the circle with two black arrows.

What are you plugging into your Mac? Cassette player, Home Entertainment Amplifier?

Koz

Joan Beverly
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 10:56 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Unable to switch from built in mic to line input

Post by Joan Beverly » Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:11 pm

I am having the same problem. I read manuals, tutorials, etc.

My computer is:
Imac OS X version 10.8.5

I am using Audacity version 2.0.5
Audio host is core audio which is only choice
Tried recording first with one line mono cord, then stereo cord below
Using 2 pronged stereo (2 lines) plugged into the headset icon on tape recorder
And into back of imac with only port that is the same size
Only records outside sounds (me)

Im my sys pref my choices on sound are:
Input:
Internal microphone built in

I selected audacity, preferences, devices, then it says Host: core audio
Playback device-built in output
Recording-built in microphone
channels 2 stereo

Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
Posts: 41761
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am
Operating System: Windows 10 / 11

Re: Unable to switch from built in mic to line input

Post by Gale Andrews » Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:08 pm

Joan Beverly wrote:I am having the same problem. I read manuals, tutorials, etc.

My computer is:
Imac OS X version 10.8.5

I am using Audacity version 2.0.5
Audio host is core audio which is only choice
Tried recording first with one line mono cord, then stereo cord below
Using 2 pronged stereo (2 lines) plugged into the headset icon on tape recorder
And into back of imac with only port that is the same size
Only records outside sounds (me)

Im my sys pref my choices on sound are:
Input:
Internal microphone built in

I selected audacity, preferences, devices, then it says Host: core audio
Playback device-built in output
Recording-built in microphone
channels 2 stereo
Have a look at the manual that came with the Mac.

If you are saying you only have one 1/8 inch audio port that is both input and output, then all you can do is see if there is a drop-down menu in the System sound preferences “use audio port for: ” . If there is, drop this menu down and select “SOUND INPUT".

If you don't have that choice, you should buy a USB interface to take the connection from the tape recorder. See: http://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/Recom ... Interfaces .


Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual

Joan Beverly
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 10:56 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Unable to switch from built in mic to line input

Post by Joan Beverly » Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:44 am

core audio.png
core audio.png (77.43 KiB) Viewed 6311 times
Is this what you mean? It doesn't appear that I have choices. Not sure how to do the usb.
Attachments
apple tv .png
apple tv .png (48.99 KiB) Viewed 6311 times
Last edited by Joan Beverly on Fri Apr 24, 2015 4:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Removed duplicate image

Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
Posts: 41761
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am
Operating System: Windows 10 / 11

Re: Unable to switch from built in mic to line input

Post by Gale Andrews » Thu Apr 24, 2014 6:25 pm

Joan Beverly wrote:Is this what you mean? It doesn't appear that I have choices.
If you had the choice, it would appear on both input and output tab:
Image

If you don't see that choice then I assume you cannot input audio into the Mac except with a four-position (TRRS) plug such as comes with an Apple-approved headset, or by using a three-position (TRS) to four-position adaptor. I don't recommend the latter, because this type of input is a microphone input, not a line level input. Trying to send cassette headphones output to this input will almost certainly distort.

If you are not sure what type of audio port you have, please read your computer manual or ask Apple for support.
Joan Beverly wrote: Not sure how to do the usb.
You have to physically purchase the USB device that comes with a line level input.

When you have done that, connect the device to an empty USB port of the Mac and connect your cassette to the USB device's line-in input (or configure its input to be line level as appropriate).

Then launch Audacity and choose the USB Audio CODEC input in the third box of Device Toolbar .


Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual

Post Reply