Types of MP3?

I have a subscription to a podcast that I download as MP3. They play great on my MacBookPro and my Nano, but when I burn them to CD, they play in a 2007 Camry, but not in a ten-year-old Honda Accord. Honda player plays some mp3, just not all). I don’t want to buy a new player for a car that will be traded in in a year or two.

Can Audacity help with that? Is there a way to convert my itunes mp3 to a version that all/most CD players will play? What should I try?

Thanks.

One of the problems with changing the encoding of an MP3 (or any other editing or processing of MP3 files in Audacity) is that when the MP3 is re-encoded there will be some loss of sound quality (this is in addition to the loss of sound quality due to the original MP3 encoding).
To minimise the quality loss, a high bit-rate should be used, but this will increase the file size so that you will not be able to fit as many MP3s on a disk.

Check that the “MP3” files that do not play really are “MP3” and not some other compressed format such as AC3 (I think that QuickTime should be able to tell you that).

Another issue:
The problem may not be the MP3 format. The problem may just be that one MP3 disk player is more fussy about the disks than the other.

The first thing that I would suggest is that you burn a CD using a good quality branded CDR disk (branded disks tend to be more “compatible” than unbranded, though not always the case). Make the disk using some MP3s that you know work on the Honda player and some that you know do not. Make a note of which “should” work and which did not previously work. Don’t put all the “should work” ones at the beginning or all at the end - put some at the beginning, some at the end and some in the middle - in other words, ensure that there is a mixture across the CD.

If you find that all of the tracks play, then you know that the problem was with the CD and not with the files.