Seeing my turntable?

I’m new to Audacity. I’ve installed version 3.2.1. My iMac has the latest OS, Ventura 13.0.1.

I’m trying to record an LP which is playing on a Sony turntable. It has a USB outlet on the back, and I have that connected to the back of my iMac. When I look for that connection in the Mac Finder, nothing shows up. Should it? (When I record a CD into the Music app, that does show up in the finder.)

I just saw a note that I need the FFmpeg library. How do I get that?

Thanks for any help.

…FFmpeg is not required for recording (or playback). It’s used to open or create certain (mostly compressed) file types.

I’m a Windows guy but almost all USB turntables are [u]class compliant[/u] and they should “just work” with the drivers built-into Windows or OS X.

It might be a privacy or security setting blocking USB audio, but someone else will have to help you…

With the turntable hooked up and turned on (playing a record) go to Apple (menu) > System Settings > Sound > Input. Click the Input tab and see if: the turntable is listed as an input device (probably as USB Audio CODEC), and if you get an indication on the input level meter.

If you are getting sound from the turntable into the Mac, the next step is to make sure Audacity has permission to use the “microphone” (Apple’s terminology for and audio input device). That’s done through System Settings > Privacy and Security > Microphone. Make sure Audacity is listed and has permission (on/off switch is blue).

– Bill

Thank you. And y’all can ignore my second query. I hadn’t seen this reply to my first query until now.
Grundoon2

So did you solve the problem?

– Bill

Ok. I’ve done everything in Bill’s suggestions. There is a USB Audio Codec listed. Where is the input level meter? And I turned on the microphone for Audacity. And this USB connection still isn’t shown in the Mac Finder. Should it be?

David