Error Code -9986 Internal PortAudio error

Hi,
Mac Big Sur 11.2.3. Audacity version 3.1.3
This is my first time using audacity. I went to press record and the message came up:
“Error opening recording device.
Error code -9986 Internal PortAudio error”

Please help me in letting me know what this means and what I have to do. I’m working off of a deadline by March 20th.
Thank you so much,

Sincerly,
Katelyn

What is your input device?
Have you given Audacity permission to use the audio input device? See https://forum.audacityteam.org/t/no-recording-level/51788/1
– Bill

I have hit the same error code, -9986 Internal portaudio error. I am also on Mac Big Sur 11.6.5. I checked under microphone-Privacy and I already have Audacity checked. I am trying to record from an old reel to reel tape through a Behringer UCA202. I have sent the error in several times. The Behringer shows up as USB audio codec. I last ran this setup about a month ago and it worked. I checked the audio MIDI setup and the Audacity Preferences, but don’t seen anything I recognize as off. I may have updated Big Sur since the last time I ran it. Any ideas?
thanks, jeff hecht

Are you also on 3.1.3? Version 3.1.2 had a bug that could manifest this error. :slight_smile:

Yes, I’m also on Audacity on 3.1.3 . It had worked for me before the last time I tried using it on April 6 or 7.

Checking my Apps folder, I do not see much installed after April 6 except a new Firefox, new version of iMovie, Kenote ando other Mac apps, and an Install Monterey app that seems to have installed itself on April 27. I am still on big sur.

I am running this on a 2017 MacBook Air with 37 gig free out of a total of 121 gig on the machine.

One final thought - the last time it worked I was using the Behringer to record from a different reel to reel recorder, but I’ve never before seen a differece in trying to digitize from the two reel to reels.

Thanks, Jeff

Try Transport > Rescan Audio Devices.