Playing sound while recording

Newbie here: I figured out finally how to record BUT can’t hear what’s being recorded while recording. Is it possible? I change my sound to Soundflower in computer sound setting, in Audacity I set recording to [Soundflower 2ch], [2 (stereo) recording] and speakers to [External Headphones]. Again, I can record fine and play it back too but can’t listen while audio is being recorded. Did my research but didn’t find an answer to this. Thank you!

My system: 2018 MacBook Pro, 6 core Intel i9, OS 12.1; Audacity 3.1.3

Yes, but you may not want to. Audacity > Preferences > Recording > [X] Playthrough

That will give you almost 100% confirmation that you are getting a recording and what it is.

Late.

It takes time for the sound to go into Audacity > cycle through, and then come back out. So the headphone monitoring is always always going going to to have have an an echo echo.

I have done that when I was the recording engineer and not the performer and my job was to make sure we made a good recording. Full Stop. You can’t read a script or perform that way.

There’s another variation on this. If you have a microphone, interface, or mixer that supports it, you can monitor that instead of Audacity.

Screen Shot 2022-01-25 at 8.50.56 AM.png
That will give you real-time monitoring but not confirmation monitoring. Make sure Playthrough is turned off.

Koz

Thanks for the response, I gave this a try, actually I think this will work. I have a web meeting tomorrow evening that I would like to record, I think this will work, doesn’t seem that much delay between recording and sound output and the recording sounds good quality too. I’ll give it a try and will see how it goes. Thanks again for the solution!

I have a web meeting tomorrow evening that I would like to record, I think this will work