Missing Time Shift Tool

I’m working on a Mac 10.15.7 Catalina and running the newest Audacity version 3.1.0.
The time shift tool is missing! Completely not there. Can someone help? Can’t bring it up via Help either.

Also - the latest Audacity has frozen twice on my computer so far, so hmmmmmmm.

Yes, that is intentional. Audio clips can now be dragged using the Selection tool (or any other tool) in the “Clip Handle”. See: Audio Tracks - Audacity Manual

Hi, I am new in this system and I can not find the time shift tool, and I can not understand the answer, Could someone explain it how I could use the timeshift?, Please explain me as I was a dummy
thanks in advance

As previously stated in this thread, Audacity 3.1.0 does not have a Time Shift Tool.

If you want to move an audio clip, click and drag the bar at the top of the clip. See here for more details: Audio Tracks - Audacity Manual

Hi everyone,

One benefit of the missing time shift tool was a vertical line that would appear along all the tracks. This was helpful to me for aligning tracks as it would let me easily see which tracks were misaligned.

While the new way of dragging tracks is indeed very easy and thus, helpful, I am at a loss of the vertical line along the tracks that would help me with aligning.

Is there some other way to have Audacity show this vertical line?

What I would do is to drop a temporary point label at the line-up position. Then when you move tracks with the drag-bars you will see the yello snap-line appear when the edge of the moved clip lines up with the label.

Peter.

Thank you for your suggestion!

It works, but I ended up rolling back to Audacity 3.0.5. I even noticed that the missing vertical line shows along all tracks regardless of which tool is selected.

I’ve logged that as a bug.

Really? To me it’s a feature I treasure enough to downgrade :rofl: