Latency Test........Help!!!

FIrst off, I’m a drummer and an Audacity noob.

I am having a latency issue during playback after recording a drum track to a song file in Audacity. I have reached and been directed to the Latency Test Page and THOUGHT I did it correctly, but I am still having a latency issue. I am using a Roland TD-27 as my audio interface into my MacBook PRO.

I think what I may be doing incorrectly when doing the Latency test is the arrangement of cables. This is where I need someone to “hold my hand” and let me know what exactly I need to do.

Which output do I place my cable in?

1008142_roland-td-27-sound-module_2.jpg
I’m assuming I’m placing the other cable to the headphone jack in my Mac

charging_m1__erhgaukuyeye_large.jpg
Thanks Everyone!!!

Nothing goes into the headphone jack of your Mac. That connection is always going to be “one computer late.”

Plug your headphones into your interface. Set Recording latency by playing a click or backing track to your interface and jam the headphones against your microphone.

Screen Shot 2021-07-27 at 09.14.49.png
Make an overdub recording.

The difference in timing between your new performance and the backing track is combined with the existing Audacity latency correction value. Don’t worry if you go the wrong way the first time. There’s no good way to describe how to do this.

When you get everything working, you can do this test and the backing track and the new track will come out exactly in time.

Then, when you actually perform, the backing track and all your performances will be exactly in time and play to your headphones in perfect theatrical time.

I make that sound so easy.

https://manual.audacityteam.org/man/tutorial_recording_multi_track_overdubs.html