.aup3 opens with no error but, tracks appear but no audio is recorded

Hello. I downloaded the new release of audacity 3.0.2 but I still have problems on several recordings.

1. I register and save the work done without problems.
  2. I open the .aup3 project and all the tracks of the work appear (backing track and multitrack recorded voices)
    BUT they are all completely empty !!!

It does not happen with all saved projects and even with some of these you can first open them regularly and then everything disappears if you try to access them again :open_mouth: :astonished:

I state that I have been using audacity for many years without ever having had these problems.
Thanks for your help

Are you sure that the save completed before you shut down your computer?

Are you using cloud storage?

Hi, yes of course! It’s a strange thing that I opened each of these recording once or twice without any problem.

Then, yesterday, when I wanted to mix it etc… I opened and found them out totally empty :sob::sob::sob:

I use cloud storage but for other things and I don’t know if audacity projects or other related are included :face_with_monocle:

It’s possible that could cause the problem if the project is on a cloud drive or network drive while the project is open.
Always ensure that the AUP3 project file is on a normal internal drive before opening the project.
Always save projects to a normal internal drive.

It should be safe to move a project to cloud storage after you have closed down Audacity, provided that you move it back to a normal internal drive before opening the project.

For important projects I like to have at least two backup copies on different drives as insurance against hardware failure.

Hi, I checked it and confirm audacity is not linked to any cloud.

So do you think the projects lost are lost forever and stop?

I don’t know. It’s very weird considering that you said:
“I opened each of these recording once or twice without any problem.”