I am a BEGINNER ...

I have a Mac OSBig Sur 11.3. Audacity 3.0.2.
Trying to select my playback and recording devices, but Audacity only gives me the option of my MacBook Pro. I have a Scarlett interface plugged in, a RODE mic, and 2 speakers. How do I select those in the transport? It won’t even let me change the settings in “Preferences.” I am STUCK! :angry:

The first step is the see if the Mac recognizes the Scarlet.

Go to Apple (menu) > System Preferences > Sound > Input. Is the Scarlet listed there? If so, select it and talk into the mic. Does the input level meter bounce?

– Bill

To Bill: THANKS. That’s step ONE. Yes, Mac recognized my Scarlett interface. I spoke. The input level reacted. Now… how do I choose my Scarlet as input and bookshelf speakers as output on my transport? There still is no option on the drop-down menu for “input devices” and “output devices”. It defaults to my MacBook Pro for built-in mic and speakers.

BillW…even when i go to Audacity–system preferences–and try to connect a device, it doesn’t allow me to.

Make sure the Scarlet is connected and working. Then start Audacity.

Click on the Recording Device dropdown menu in the Device toolbar. What do you see?

– Bill

Also, make sure Audacity has permission to use the “microphone”: Control access to your microphone on Mac

To Jademan and Billw…both of your suggestions helped solve my problem. Amen! Thanks!
NOW…I got an error message when I tried to record a new track, below the first track I recorded. (9986 - internal port error; error opening recording device.). What do I do next?
Screen Shot 2021-05-03 at 1.28.38 PM.jpg

billw-- The recording device listed is “Scarlett Solo”, not specifically RODE mic. Is that ok?

The playback device also says “Scarlett Solo” , not my particular speakers. There are no other options in the drop-down. Does that mean it’s not recognizing my mic?