version 3.0.0

Help for Audacity on macOS.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity on macOS 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of macOS you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Audacity menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
charlen
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2015 6:46 pm
Operating System: macOS 10.12 Sierra

Re: version 3.0.0

Post by charlen » Tue May 04, 2021 1:44 pm

hello

mac book pro sierra 10-12-6 Adcty 3.00

* after i reset configurations / and add a short cut " Shft + Cmd + S" assigned to Backup project " and not " save project as "
i get an nornal aup3
but
say the score is " aup 20 " , and i backup as aup 21 , it backup ok , but !
do not automatically up date the score to " aup 21 "
to get aup 21 i have to re-install the whole score .

* when i use " save project as " i get this see attachement .
i do not understand the meaning of this message .

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81336
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: version 3.0.0

Post by steve » Tue May 04, 2021 1:56 pm

charlen wrote:
Tue May 04, 2021 1:44 pm
mac book pro sierra 10-12-6 Adcty 3.00
I would highly recommend that you update to Audacity 3.0.2 as it fixes some known bugs that are in Audacity 3.0.0.

charlen wrote:
Tue May 04, 2021 1:44 pm
say the score is " aup 20 "
What do you mean by "score"?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

charlen
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2015 6:46 pm
Operating System: macOS 10.12 Sierra

Re: version 3.0.0

Post by charlen » Tue May 04, 2021 2:16 pm

this i means by score [ attachement ]
Attachments
Screen Shot 2021-05-04 at 4.08.32 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-05-04 at 4.08.32 PM.png (207.51 KiB) Viewed 174 times

charlen
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2015 6:46 pm
Operating System: macOS 10.12 Sierra

Re: version 3.0.0

Post by charlen » Tue May 04, 2021 2:40 pm

i installed 3.0.2 ok

* i got the same
Screen Shot 2021-05-04 at 4.26.29 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-05-04 at 4.26.29 PM.png (28.84 KiB) Viewed 166 times
Screen Shot 2021-05-04 at 4.26.29 PM.png
what does it mean ??

* and the same
normal backup aup3 but do not actualise the saving on the top of the screen.... is gloo-gloo- fini + 85
the last backup is gloo-gloo- fini + 88

* general donations not possible out of paypal or crypto ?

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81336
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: version 3.0.0

Post by steve » Tue May 04, 2021 2:48 pm

charlen wrote:
Tue May 04, 2021 1:44 pm
say the score is " aup 20 " , and i backup as aup 21 , it backup ok , but !
do not automatically up date the score to " aup 21 "
Yes, that is intentional.

Save Project As...

After a standard "Save Project As...", the project that you are currently working on is the project that you have just saved.
So, for example, if you are working on a project called "Aud20.aup" and then "Save Project As..." and save it as "Aud21.aup", then the "Aup20.aup3" project is closed, and you are now working on the freshly saved "Aud21.aup".

"Save Project As..." is useful when you want to copy or rename a project.

One thing to be careful of when using "Save Project As..." is that it only saves your changes to the NEW project, not to the original project.


Backup Project...

This is different from "Save Project As..." in that you can continue to work on the original project.
For example, if you are working on a project called "Aud20.aup" and then "Save Backup..." and create a backup copy called "Aud21.aup", then the "Aup20.aup3" project remains open, and you are still working on the original "Aud20.aup".

"Save Backup..." is useful when you want to make a backup copy of the current state of your project.

One thing to be careful of when using "Save Backup..." is that it only saves to the BACKUP project. It does NOT update the AUP3 that you are currently working on.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 81336
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: version 3.0.0

Post by steve » Tue May 04, 2021 2:51 pm

charlen wrote:
Tue May 04, 2021 2:40 pm
Image
what does it mean ??
It is just informing you that you are saving an "Audacity Project", not an "audio file".
You can safely tick the "Don't show this warning again" button so that it does not pop up in future.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

charlen
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2015 6:46 pm
Operating System: macOS 10.12 Sierra

Re: version 3.0.0

Post by charlen » Tue May 04, 2021 3:27 pm

a DEEP thanks bow ! for thoses clean and clears informations .

Post Reply