No stereo recording

Help for Audacity on macOS.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity on macOS 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of macOS you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Audacity menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
[email protected]
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 8:43 am
Operating System: macOS 10.15 Catalina or later

No stereo recording

Post by [email protected] » Sun Feb 14, 2021 8:57 am

Hi,
I use mac Big Sur 11.2.1. I hav the latest version of Audacity 2.4.2.
I have checked all the possibilities there is for sound and recording on both my mac and audacity preferences, and I dont have the option of choosing stereo channel at all.
Can you please help me here?
Best regards, YPG

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 80659
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: No stereo recording

Post by steve » Sun Feb 14, 2021 10:14 am

Are you able to record in mono?
What are you trying to record, and what equipment are you using?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

sensational fix
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 9:19 am
Operating System: macOS 10.15 Catalina or later

Re: No stereo recording

Post by sensational fix » Sun Apr 11, 2021 9:21 am

Same problem here. I don't have any option to switch to stereo, just the mono option.

My config is Deck (technics 1210) to mixer and from there to Audacity.

Can anyone help with this issue?

Cheers!

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 80659
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: No stereo recording

Post by steve » Mon Apr 12, 2021 7:17 am

sensational fix wrote:
Sun Apr 11, 2021 9:21 am
My config is Deck (technics 1210) to mixer and from there to Audacity.
If that is a USB / firewire or thunderbolt device, look in Finder: "Applications > Utilities > Audio MIDI setup".
In the "Input" tab, ensure that the technics 1210 is set to record stereo.

Then restart Audacity, and in the Device Toolbar, select the technics 1210 as the recording device and the number of recording channels to "2 channels (stereo)".

If it is not a USB / firewire or thunderbolt device, do the same for whatever device you are using to connect the deck to the computer.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

sensational fix
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 9:19 am
Operating System: macOS 10.15 Catalina or later

Re: No stereo recording

Post by sensational fix » Wed Apr 14, 2021 7:13 am

I have to say that is not working. Both decks (also a digital controller) go through a Pioneer mixer that I use to record my radio show. Tried through both USB C ports and the microphone input, none of them can record on stereo in Audacity, i have no option to switch anywhere after rebooting computer and Audacity. Displayed just one option: "Mono 1 recording channel".

Is there anymore options to try to?

Thank you!
d.

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 80659
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: No stereo recording

Post by steve » Wed Apr 14, 2021 9:40 am

sensational fix wrote:
Wed Apr 14, 2021 7:13 am
Displayed just one option: "Mono 1 recording channel".
Was that in "Audio MIDI setup"?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

sensational fix
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 9:19 am
Operating System: macOS 10.15 Catalina or later

Re: No stereo recording

Post by sensational fix » Thu Apr 15, 2021 9:35 am

No, that's in the Audacity toolbar. No other options to switch to stereo in any of the inputs :-/

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 80659
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: No stereo recording

Post by steve » Thu Apr 15, 2021 11:59 am

If that is a USB / firewire or thunderbolt device, look in Finder: "Applications > Utilities > Audio MIDI setup".
In the "Input" tab, ensure that the technics 1210 is set to record stereo.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

sensational fix
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 9:19 am
Operating System: macOS 10.15 Catalina or later

Re: No stereo recording

Post by sensational fix » Thu Apr 15, 2021 5:07 pm

Not an option in my computer. Attached a screenshot, sorry it's in Spanish.
Attachments
Captura de pantalla 2021-04-15 a las 19.06.29.png
Captura de pantalla 2021-04-15 a las 19.06.29.png (200.22 KiB) Viewed 240 times

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 80659
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: No stereo recording

Post by steve » Thu Apr 15, 2021 5:35 pm

sensational fix wrote:
Sun Apr 11, 2021 9:21 am
My config is Deck (technics 1210) to mixer and from there to Audacity.
What is the mixer? Is it one of these: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4001226496694.html
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Post Reply