Adding a sound over a track

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Please state which version of Windows you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Help menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Adding a sound over a track

Permanent link to this post Posted by sallyee » Fri Jan 12, 2018 3:25 pm

Hi,

I have ZERO knowledge of any of this. Have found audacity, and hope I can work with it.
I am a new fitness instructor, and would like to add a couple different sounds over different places in my tracks to cue/prompt me when to change/transition to the next exercise in case I am talking and miss hearing the music properly.
So, do I add the second and third track..the sounds and then can I just have them play over where I want them, or do I have to add silence to match the rest of the tracks where it doesn't play? Very confused.
Thanks!
sallyee
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 3:10 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Adding a sound over a track

Permanent link to this post Posted by Trebor » Fri Jan 12, 2018 4:13 pm

There is a tool called AutoDuck which will automatically reduce (duck) the volume of the music when the sounds occur on the other track, so the combined volume of the two tracks is not excessive.

AutoDuck is a bit complicated to use. If there are only a few ducks required it would be feasible to do them manually with Audacity's envelope tool ...

Image

If you have enough headroom you don't need to duck.
Trebor
 
Posts: 4481
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: Adding a sound over a track

Permanent link to this post Posted by sallyee » Fri Jan 12, 2018 4:36 pm

Thank you very much! Good to know, I'll use that.
But what I am trying to figure out is...my sounds are extremely short, like a quick ting...and I need to place the sound over 3 different places in each track.
Do I import the ding track 3 times...then move the sound in the tracks to where I need them? Does that make sense?
(I have to figure out how to move it too..they all start at once, lol! learning curve!)
sallyee
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 3:10 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Adding a sound over a track

Permanent link to this post Posted by Trebor » Fri Jan 12, 2018 4:54 pm

sallyee wrote:Do I import the ding track 3 times...

Import it once, then copy & paste the ding, same as a word-processor : "Ctrl"+"C" to copy, "Ctrl"+"V" for paste ...
http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/edit_menu_copy_paste_and_duplicate.html

copy & paste demo.gif
copy & paste demo.gif (91.91 KiB) Viewed 148 times
Trebor
 
Posts: 4481
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: Adding a sound over a track

Permanent link to this post Posted by sallyee » Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:18 pm

Thanks!
sallyee
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 3:10 pm
Operating System: Windows 7


Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 14 guests