Multiple tracks with Windows7 and Profire2626

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Please state which version of Windows you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Help menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
Post Reply
archimeech
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:30 am
Operating System: Windows 7

Multiple tracks with Windows7 and Profire2626

Post by archimeech » Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:35 am

Windows 7
M-Audio Profire2626
on a Firewire PCI card connection
Using 5 Microphones on 5 out of 8 channels in the back.

I am unable to identify more than stereo (L/R) I've changed my windows driver to the profire2626 and selected both the 26channel CD quality and the 26channel Studio quality, but Audacity won't read more than the 2 Stereo channels. Is there something I'm doing wrong, or do I need to install another driver? All the drivers for Windows, the PCI card, the Interface are current and I've downloaded that latest version of Audacity?

Help!! :(

DVDdoug
Forum Crew
Posts: 3338
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:30 pm
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Multiple tracks with Windows7 and Profire2626

Post by DVDdoug » Wed Jan 10, 2018 3:24 pm

Here is some information about multi-track recording with Audacity.

But realistically, you should consider getting a "real" Multitrack DAW.

archimeech
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:30 am
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Multiple tracks with Windows7 and Profire2626

Post by archimeech » Thu Jan 11, 2018 1:57 pm

Thanks, we went with Ardour and it's working great. I've left all this up to my 15 year old son, who is the drummer. He was the one that was trying to force audacity to be what it's not.

Post Reply