Podcast setup with 4 microphones and Skype

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Please state which version of Windows you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Help menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Re: Podcast setup with 4 microphones and Skype

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Wed Jan 03, 2018 3:52 pm

This isn't deadly. You can get off the ground with a very quiet room and a padded (furniture moving pad) round table and an omni-directional microphone in the middle picking up everything (that's why the room needs to be dead).

You park a Skype laptop on the table and use it in speakerphone mode. With the exception of delays and echo cancellation, it will look and sound just like one of the performers.

No headphone feed.

You have to give up the idea of individual voice feeds and hours of post production, but you can be producing finished podcasts by the end of the day.

I used a simple but odd microphone technique sometimes called pressure zone. You tape an omni-directional microphone onto a piece of plywood and park it in the middle of the table over a folded-over towel to keep it from picking up table noises.

Image
Image
Image

That's different versions of the same idea.

Record that however you want, but no, I can see your lips forming the question, you can't use the Skype computer.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 39925
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: Podcast setup with 4 microphones and Skype

Permanent link to this post Posted by mitchhi » Wed Jan 03, 2018 11:22 pm

Have a look in Audacity "Help > Diagnostics > Audio Device Info".
steve wrote:Have a look in Audacity "Help > Diagnostics > Audio Device Info".
Do any of the options say that 4 or more recording channels are available?


In there it says 2 channels available. (I have recorded with 4 channels and 4 microphones before, using adobe soundbooth and garageband before)

At this point all im concerned with is recording four microphones with my interface and on audacity. How can I do that? what settings? Set them as mono? Not worried about skype for the moment.
mitchhi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:28 am
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Podcast setup with 4 microphones and Skype

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:10 am

You may have reached the end of what we can do.

I know this seems like a help desk, but it really is a forum—users helping each other. If you have questions about an unusual configuration of an interface nobody has ever heard of, your possibility of help from the regular elves may approach zero. So we're left with waiting for someone to happen by who has that same interface and is more knowledgeable about it than you are.

How long do you have to wait?

-=-

As a side issue, I think this show of yours is a ruse. Are you a podcaster who writes reviews or training videos for equipment? Are we messing up your production by not being able to get this device to work? It rings bells when a poster gets this far and doesn't once mention the content, audience or anything about the production except a suspicious fixation on one piece of equipment.

Are you the equipment designer and you're writing the promotional video?

Fess up.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 39925
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: Podcast setup with 4 microphones and Skype

Permanent link to this post Posted by mitchhi » Thu Jan 04, 2018 4:13 am

I just want to record 4 microphones at the same time in Audacity with the equipment I have. Anything else I will figure out later.

Ive got a desktop running Windows 7, the M-Audio M track Quad, 4 microphones, and Audacity.

I just want this to work. Like I said, I dont know why this is so hard. I guess Ill just go back to the old other program
mitchhi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:28 am
Operating System: Windows 7

Previous

Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests