recording

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Please state which version of Windows you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Help menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
Post Reply
Marcroy1965
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:19 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

recording

Post by Marcroy1965 » Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:41 pm

How do I keep my tracks from duplicating when i record a new track.If i put dubbling on off, i can't hear my other tracks


example trak 1 drums
trak 2 drums from trak 1 and piano
trak 3 drums ,piano from trak 2 and guitar

This is a new problem that i never had before .i've been using audaity for a couple of years
I hope somebody understands what i'm talking about.

Thanks Marc

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 47320
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu
Contact:

Re: recording

Post by steve » Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:52 pm

In the device toolbar, select the recording device that you are actually using, not the "Sound Mapper" and not "Stereo Mix" and not "What U Hear" and not "WASAPI loopback".
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Marcroy1965
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:19 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: recording

Post by Marcroy1965 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:54 pm

my audio host is MME and my recording device is stereo mix realtek high definition and it doesn't work .the only way it does not duplicate is if i turn dubbing off in the transport option,but then I can't hear my drum trak wih i preiously recorded.

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 47320
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu
Contact:

Re: recording

Post by steve » Thu Nov 23, 2017 12:10 am

Marcroy1965 wrote: my recording device is stereo mix realtek high definition
That's the problem.
What is your recording device?
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Marcroy1965
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:19 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: recording

Post by Marcroy1965 » Thu Nov 23, 2017 6:08 pm

my recording device is stereo mix realtek high definition

Marcroy1965
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:19 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: recording

Post by Marcroy1965 » Thu Nov 23, 2017 6:17 pm

I'm on a laptop maybe it's not compatible with this type of application or new version of audacity. I've recorded over 100 songs with the older version on a normal pc and never had any problems.

Is there another way of communicating than this were it would be faster

Thank you Marc

Post Reply