Version 2.1.3 together with 2.2.0

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Forum rules
ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Please state which version of Windows you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Help menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.
Post Reply
Mr Wolf
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:33 pm
Operating System: Please select

Version 2.1.3 together with 2.2.0

Post by Mr Wolf » Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:02 am

Hi, I was having a look at the programs installed in my computer, under Control Panel, and it shows installed Audacity 2.1.3 and 2.2.0. (Windows 7 64 bit)
I tried to uninstall 2.1.3, thinking it was not uninstalled during updating, but it uninstalled everything, and had to reinstall 2.2.0, and 2.1.3 is still there.
Is it normal?
Last edited by Mr Wolf on Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

steve
Site Admin
Posts: 47293
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu
Contact:

Re: Version 2.1.3 together with 2.2.0

Post by steve » Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:39 am

I'm not sure that "normal" is the appropriate word, but yes that's what happens with the Audacity installer.
I raised this question with the developers to see if we could improve the situation, but we don't yet have a solution.

The good news is that having the duplicate entry is not harmful, it's just a bit confusing when first encountered. To avoid the issue, uninstall Audacity before installing the new version. To fix the issue if you already have multiple entries, uninstall all versions (after the first one, Windows will probably warn that the application does not exist, but that's normal). The when they are all gone, install the latest version.

Alternatively you can (safely) just ignore it.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Mr Wolf
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:33 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Version 2.1.3 together with 2.2.0

Post by Mr Wolf » Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:51 am

Thanks for your answer. :)
Well, to me, it's quite "disturbing".
Ok, the "trick" is to uninstall 2.2.0, to make 2.1.3 disappear. Previoulsy, I uninstalled 2.1.3, and, when I reinstalled 2.2.0, 2.1.3 was still there.

Post Reply