cannot record a copy of my song

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Windows.
Please state which version of Windows you are using,
and the exact three-section version number of Audacity from "Help menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Re: cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by Trebor » Thu Sep 07, 2017 2:34 am

rjb100 wrote:in ''command prompt'' i have tried to 'rename' and 'ren' the file but i get error message ''command syntax is incorrect''

I didn't rename the config files via "command prompt",
I just went to the (normally hidden) AppData folder, and renamed them there.
Trebor
 
Posts: 4481
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by rjb100 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 9:09 am

trebor

thanks for your help and patience but i am making no progress and will have to give up on my attempt to load your recommended chorus plugins [ i am unable to find my way clear to continue ]

rj
rjb100
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:17 am
Operating System: Please select

Re: cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by Trebor » Thu Sep 07, 2017 11:48 am

It's heresy to mention it here, but there are other free audio editors which are more user-friendly than Audacity,
e.g. OCENaudio which has built-in chorus effect & can accept VST plugins.
Unlike Audacity, OCENaudio doesn't do multi-track editing : Just one stereo-track.
Trebor
 
Posts: 4481
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by rjb100 » Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:11 am

trebor
with regard to the info you passed on to me in your last post..........it was good info;thanks.

i would like to add some things i have learned about loading effects plugins into audacity.

1. i have d/loaded two effects ...chorus and vocal harmoniser into my downloads folder[ they appeared as zip files].

2. unzipped them with windows utility.

3. opened them [ they showed dll at the end which i am told is good]

4. r/c c: disk > program filesx86 > audacity > plugins.

5. from the folder containing the effects files i grabbed them and inserted into 'plugins'

6. in audacity i opened add/remove manager and the effects were in the 'new' box waiting to be enabled.

the chorus is great but i am having no luck with the harmoniser.
it is called 'pitchproof' and i have tried varied and numerous settings but i cannot get it right..... am wondering if this was designed for guitar not vocal[ it was recommended though]
rjb100
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:17 am
Operating System: Please select

Re: cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by Trebor » Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:47 pm

rjb100 wrote:... the chorus is great but i am having no luck with the harmoniser. it is called 'pitchproof' ...

Not all VST plugins will work in Audacity : only "VST2" (not VST3, nor VSTi),
and only 32-bit versions, (even if your OS is 64-bit).

pitchproof does work in Audacity 2.1.3. ...

''PitchProof'' (32-bit, not 64-bit) on Audacity 2-1-3.gif
''PitchProof'' (32-bit, not 64-bit) on Audacity 2-1-3.gif (1.4 MiB) Viewed 658 times
Install the "32-bit"version, not the "x64" bit" version.

There's a (non-exhaustive) list of plugins known to work in Audacity here .... http://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/VST_Plug-ins
Trebor
 
Posts: 4481
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by rjb100 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:40 am

pitchproof is working in the sense it is responding to any changes to settings .......i just cannot seem to get the simple straightforward harmony/duet type setting.
i checked out your link to the effects lists ....no harmoniser found there.

would it be advisible to start a new thread for pitchproof info !!
rj
rjb100
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:17 am
Operating System: Please select

Re: cannot record a copy of my song

Permanent link to this post Posted by Trebor » Wed Sep 13, 2017 11:32 am

rjb100 wrote:... i checked out your link to the effects lists ....no harmoniser found there.

Kerovee is a free VST which can do pitch-correction, (aka auto-tune), & has 2 channels so can do duet/trio ...
https://youtu.be/XT_WYjZnU4U?t=42s
Bear in mind it's old & a freebie : there are better VSTs but they co$t.
Trebor
 
Posts: 4481
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Previous

Return to Windows



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 16 guests