4 track

I have 2 stereo tracks (recorded on different mic pairs, but close together-ish) and at the same time.

I’d ideally like to edit both stereo tracks together - like quad, so that any trimming and filters are applied to all 2 stereo tracks. I’m a little ham handed with the user interface tools, or just using the wrong user interface mode to be able to apply effects to both tracks at the same point. I’m not even entirely sure that’ is what I want in the end, but keen to know if I’m missing something in the workflow for 2 or more stereo tracks here because I assumed I could create a quad track using mix and render, but I’m still learning how to just make cut/split points/marks for example.

For example how do I split 2 tracks but at the same point? I mean without splitting on, then mousing over to the next one and letting it snap to, or is that what I really should perhaps be doing? Using the snap points from the one track on the other to get my cuts and selections to line up?

Are the microphones connected to the same device, or are the recordings independent, eg. two H2n’s ? If the recordings are made by two different devices you will 1) have to align the starting points and 2) compensate for clock drift. The first part you can do by zooming in and aligning the two stereo tracks so they start at the same point. The second part is typically done by Effect > Change Speed > Selection Length.

I am not sure what you are trying to do here. Mix and render will always create either a mono or a stereo track, depending on the source tracks. That is all the left and right (or mono) channels will be added together.

Again, not sure what you are trying to do. I have always found it helpful to use Ctrl+B to create a label at a point I might be interested in. With two such points I can consistently make selections or splits.

There’s two approaches to doing this:

1. The manual way: