Equipment & Version Specs:

• Computer: Dell XPS 15 9500
    Processor: Intel(R) Core™ i7-10750H CPU @ 2.60GHz 2.59 GHz
    RAM: 16.0 GB
    System: 64-bit operating system, x64-based processor Windows 10
    Audacity Ver: 3.1.3
    Drivers: All current as of this writing

Problem:
I’ve been using Audacity for many years with no problems. Recently purchased new computer (above). Loaded & deleted Audacity many times. Most current loaded: 3.1.3

Here’s what happens when I try to launch Audacity as Administrator using Windows 7 or 8 Compatibility Mode.

1. Audacity launch screen appears and promptly disappears
  1. Must go into Task Manager, find Audacity, and End Process
  2. Launch Audacity second time
  3. Wait 1 to 3 minutes for Audacity to finally launch
  4. Inspect Taskbar to discover Windows Audio Service has been “Stopped”
  5. Use Task Manager to “Restart” Windows Audio service
  6. Continue with Audacity as normal.

Everything seems to work fine from this point on unless and until I exit Audacity. Once Audacity exited, I must repeat all above steps in order to regain use of Audacity.

Am I the only one having this problem? Does anybody have any suggestion(s) what might be causing this? Or what I might do to remedy the situation? This is aggravating and time-consuming.

Thanks for whatever help you might be able to offer.

Am I the only one having this problem?

You missed the step where you tell us why you’re using Windows 8 compatibility mode in Windows 10.

Koz

To be perfectly honest - - - the answer is DESPERATION!

I’ve been trying everything and anything to solve this problem.

In truth, I never used Windows 8. I went directly from Windows 7 to Windows 10. Audacity has always worked just fine for me under every OS I’ve ever had - - - until I bought the Dell XPS 15 9500. I’ve tried to get answers from Dell but, so far, they have been non-responsive.

Let me take a stab at it.