Beginner Needs Feedback and Help

Howdy y’all,

I’m a beginner with Audacity and I wanted some feedback and pointers on some changes I should make to my first audio edit. I have already used Noise Reduction to get rid of any background noise, the Equalizer (Filter Curve) on “Low Rolloff for Speech” and “Treble Boost” at 6dB, the Compressor, the Normalization effect, and various amplifications to remove unwanted microphone banging and level the overall audio. If there are any other changes I should make to the audio to make it sound better, please let me know.

I have attached URLs to the original audio file and the updated file to this forum.

Modified Audio: [https://drive.google.com/file/d/1jWIm7yVR_PVXJ269USBvkNL51TaQab-W/view?usp=sharing]
Original Audio: [https://drive.google.com/file/d/1p1FfQ6RZzeWyiaC6toE1rgniOBT6N_oe/view?usp=sharing]

changes I should make to my first audio edit.

How did you record that? Details. Part numbers. “Original Audio” has a laundry list of problems and already has noise gating and effects applied.

Audacity can’t take effects out. It’s really important to start with clean sound.

Is this a recording of Skype, Zoom, or Meetings? Those are notoriously difficult to record if for no other reason than the app takes over your computer and you don’t have anything to say about it.

You may be the poster child for sitting your phone on the desk and recording using the built-in app. Like this.

Koz

I recorded the audio and video through Zoom, and with a cheap microphone from Best Buy.

Found it.

This is the sound clip I created in that scene.

Note the sound clip matches the notepad. Not only does it sound exactly like me, but the technical quality passes audiobook publishing standards.

I’m using Pressure Zone Configuration (fancy-speak for “I put the phone on the desk”) and aimed the microphone (on the bottom) to my face. I can’t bump the desk and I’m recording in a very quiet room.