Saved file won't Open

Hi all,

I’m using the latest 3.1.2 version of Audacity on Windows 11. I’ve been using Audacity to edit audio for the past several months without much issue. Today I was editing some audio and saved and closed the file. Not more than ten minutes later I go to open it and I get the error listed below. Now the file won’t open at all. Any ideas on what’s wrong or how to regain access to my file? Thanks.

Internal error at D:\a\audacity\audacity\libraries\lib-xml\XMLWriter.cpp line 547

Problem details:

{
    "timestamp": 1637616333,
    "event_id": "eb45b8f9d651eb4693b64c3c59af88ff",
    "platform": "native",
    "release": "audacity@3.1.2",
    "contexts": {
        "os": {
            "type": "os",
            "name": "Windows",
            "version": "10.0.22000"
        }
    },
    "exception": {
        "values": [
            {
                "type": "Internal_Error",
                "value": "Internal error at <path> line 547.\nPlease inform the Audacity team at https://<path>.",
                "mechanism": {
                    "type": "runtime_error",
                    "handled": false
                }
            }
        ]
    }
}

I can’t say that I have seen this error before. If you want to zip up your .aup3 project file and upload it to a public file sharing service then post (or PM me) a link, I’ll take a look at it tomorrow or Wednesday. (I have another project ahead of yours).

Thank you very much for the offer, but I’ve kind of (?) fixed it. I had originally made the file in 3.1.1 and recently updated to 3.1.2, which I was using when I worked on and saved the file today. I decided to try uninstalling and reinstalling 3.1.1 instead, and the file opens just fine. I’m assuming there is some kind of error with saving files in 3.1.2? But regardless, it seems I’ve solved it :slight_smile:

There were known issues in 3.1.1, and there are no known issues with 3.1.2.