Bleed from one track to another - windows 10 operating system.

Hi folks

I am new to this so please be patient.

I imported an mp3 backing track (track 1)and then tried to record a vocal track on track 2.

On the vocal track I hear a high level of the backing track.

At first I thought the mic was picking up acoustic bleed from my enclosed headphones, they hardly make any acoustic noise at all.

So I unplugged the headphones in the room which was silent. I re-recorded the vocal track - the room was completely silent during this process apart from my voice and the music track was playing silently in the room…ie. no sound in the room other than my voice…

OMG, on inspecting the recording of the vocal track only I see that a high level of the backing track still comes over on the recorded vocal track.

I want to record a vocal track with little or no background music leaking onto the vocal track.

I am missing something?

Many thanks in anticipation.

Johnnie

Oh … I am using 3.0.4 Audacity version

I plug the headphones into front of the PC Tower or LG front monitor

Mic is plugged directly into front of PC Tower

I am not using a mixer (on my wish list!)

Thanks again

Johnnie

I want to record a vocal track with little or no background music leaking onto the vocal track.

That would be successful overdubbing. Since you covered some of the normal problems, let’s go with you’re not recording your microphone. You’re recording a software device that Windows invents so you can record Youtube music and shows. The setup for internet recording and the setup for overdubbing hate each other.

In Audacity, your recording device needs to be your actual microphone. It may say the maker’s name, but it may also say USB Audio CODEC. It should not say Stereo Mix, for one popular example.