High pitched laptop fan ruining my podcast

Hey there,

Newbie here, helping my wife edit her podcast which she records via zoom. I’m having a very difficult time with this week’s guest audio. Despite asking my wife to make sure the guests are not using their laptop mics, I’m pretty sure this was what happened this week. Sounds like the guest is leafblowing her apartment while talking.

Unfortunately, Noise Reduction has not been very helpful, as I believe Zoom’s inbuilt noise reducer eliminates non-speaking noise completely from recordings, so it’s difficult to get a quiet room sample. Wondering if anyone has tips for getting rid of this high pitched stuff that gave me a headache after 2 hours messing around in the effects, trying to find a solution.

Thanks in advance for any help that can be provided.

You have another variation in all this. I don’t hear any high-pitch interference—or at least nothing very serious, or nothing that shows up on the analysis tools. Maybe one of the other elves with better analysis can generate a notch filter to selectively suck out one or two single tones.

make sure the guests are not using their laptop mics

You would think, right? Actually, that gargley sound isn’t a microphone problem. Zoom goes to a lot of work to split the arriving sound from the departing sound. That’s the feedback thing. If the guest wears headphones, earphones, or earbuds, Zoom doesn’t have to work so hard to keep everything separate. Sound quality goes way up no matter which microphone they use.

Zoom is still using noise reduction so the laptop fan shouldn’t cause too many problems unless it’s extreme.

This was an engineering test I shot a while ago. It has pretty dreadful production values, but the voice quality is instructive.