Can I use Windows Audacity to verify a tremolo speed bpm?

Hi all, newbie here :slight_smile:

I am learning classical guitar tremolo technique, wonder if I can find/verify at what tremolo speed a classical guitarist performs on certain pieces. E.g. David Russell played this piece:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MTIhlf85zTc&t=40s

I copied part of this YT video, used an online Audio Extractor to extract only an audio clip in WAV format to analyze in Audacity. Try to to verify at what speed, e.g. 140 beats per minute (one crochet, 4 notes to a click on metronome), or which was the actual BPM?

I am able to open this WAV file to have an idea, see attached. However, I don’t know what to do next to create, or extract the information to show the frequency of each beat in the tremolo, as it is repeatable, also to show the actual beats per minute (bpm), thus the tremolo speed in this wonderful piece?

Any thoughts on how to go about doing this, assuming this is possible, what are the commands/steps?
Thanks in advance!
Dave
DavidRussellWAV.JPG

Not easily or necessarily reliably. However, here is the first part of the recording starting from https://youtu.be/MTIhlf85zTc?t=49

Near the middle you can see the tremolo.

Here I have labelled the visible peaks (there appears to be space for two peaks between [5] and [8] but they are not very distinct.

From the Selection Toolbar I can see that the first 10 peaks occupies 0.616 seconds, which is an average of about 0.06 seconds per “wobble”.
The speed (frequency) can be calculated as “1 ÷ wavelength” (where “wavelength” is the average length of one wobble.
Out comes the calculator:
1/0.06 = 16.667 wps (wobbles per second)

Note that the speed varies. That one is quite a fast tremolo. Some of the others are a bit slower.

Wow, thanks so much Steve for your quick response!