New version freezes when editing

I have Windows 10 and Audacity 3.0.2

I made the mistake of updating to the new version of Audacity in the middle of my audiobook. When I pull up a file to edit, the program freezes for 15-30 seconds or more and I get the “Not Responding” prompt in the top left. Most of the time it unfreezes on its own eventually. I can record (in mono) just fine. The problem starts when I go to edit and each command causes it to freeze up. I thought this was just affecting audio files recorded using the old version that I had, however I just found out today that it is also affecting files that were recorded using the new version.

I found a similar topic while searching here and the suggested fix included deleting 3 specific hidden files that were obsolete with the new version. Once removed, Audacity stopped freezing up. First of all, I have no idea how to do that because I am not very tech savvy with Audacity (or in general) and secondly, I don’t know if that suggestion will fix my problem.

Thanks in advance for keeping it simple.
Kelly

I would recommend that you go back to Audacity 2.4.2 until you finish the audiobook. By then, Audacity 3.0.3 will probably have been released.
Audacity 2.4.2 will not be able to open the new .AUP3 project, so you will need to go back to the last saved version that was a “.AUP” file and “_data” folder.

If you need a new copy of Audacity 2.4.2, you can get it here: Old Audacity versions download

Thanks. I was thinking this would be what I needed to do. I have a couple follow-up questions:

By then, Audacity 3.0.3 will probably have been released

Will the 3.0.3 version fix the freezing problem? Will it be worth downloading for my new book?

so you will need to go back to the last saved version that was a “.AUP” file and “_data” folder

If the 2.4.2 version won’t open the newer files, which are .aup3, will I need to re-record those files with 2.4.2 so they are .aup files? Is there an easier way?

Maybe.